You are here: Home > Our Authors > Katsu, Alma

VJ Books Presents Author Alma Katsu!

Author Alma Katsu Alma Katsu was born in Fairbanks, Alaska, the daughter of an American-born father and a Japanese-born mother. She spent the majority of her youth living near Concord, Massachusetts, to which she attributes her interest in the early American history featured in her novels. She attended Brandeis University (BA in literature and writing, 1981) where she studied with novelist John Irving and children's book author Margaret Rey, and the Johns Hopkins University (MA in Fiction, 2004). She is also an alumna of the Squaw Valley writers workshops. Katsu has also had a 29-year career in the US federal government working in a number of positions dealing with intelligence and foreign policy, with an emphasis on technology issues.

Katsu's writing has received praise for its quality and ability to create authentic and realistic settings. She published her first novel, The Taker, in 2011 through Gallery Books. It received praise from outlets such as Booklist and The Washington Post, and was recognized as one of the ten best debut novels of the year by the American Library Association.

She lives in the Washington, DC area with her husband musician Bruce Katsu.

Alma Katsu Book List and Awards
Her website:
Follow her on Facebook
Follow her on Twitter

Red Widow
Signed First Edition

Red Widow by Alma Katsu
Sort By:
Page of 1
Katsu, Alma | Red Widow | Signed First Edition Book Katsu, Alma | Red Widow | Signed First Edition Book

Author Signed Hardcover Book. March 2021 NY: G.P. Putnam's Sons First edition, first printing, mint, new/unread in a flawless dust jacket, signed by author. Each dust jacket is protected in an acid-free archival quality acetate cover.

Usually Ships in 24 to 72 Hours
VJ Books Price $39.99

Alma Katsu Bibliography

Taker Trilogy

  1. The Taker - 2011
  2. The Reckoning - 2012
  3. The Descent - 2014

Standalone Novels

  • The Hunger - 2018
  • The Deep - 2020
  • Red Widow - 2021

Short Stories

  • The Witch Sisters - 2013
  • The Marriage Price - 2012
  • The Devil's Scribe - 2012

Go to top of page