Home > Mysteries > A - C >

Colin, Beatrice | Glimmer Palace, The | First Edition Copy
Glimmer Palace, The | Colin, Beatrice | First Edition Book


 
THE GLIMMER PALACE by Beatrice Colin
FIRST EDITION HARDCOVER BOOK


First edition, first printing, mint, new/unread in a flawless dustjacket. July 2008 NY: Penguin ISBN 9781594489853
VJ Books Price $19.99 --> Interested in SIGNED BOOKS? Click here


Availability: Usually Ships in 24 to 72 Hours

Book Description
 

GLIMMER PALACE, THE by Beatrice Colin - FIRST EDITION BOOK

See all titles by Beatrice Colin.

In the tradition of Michel Faber and Sarah Waters, a literary historical novel about an orphan girl's journey from poverty to film stardom, set against the grand backdrop of World War I Berlin, the cabaret era, the run-up to World War II, and the innovations in art and industry that accompanied it all.

The Glimmer Palace opens at the turn of the 20th century and closes as Hitler prepares to start World War II. Colin, the British author of two previous novels, frames Lilly's story with scenes from the larger history of the German film industry, at its height in the 1920s. She wedges self-contained, fictionalized vignettes between chapters, deftly capturing the era's sense of frenzied invention and seductive promise.

Assurance of Quality
VJ Books provides the finest in signed first editions and collectible books. In so doing, we consistently inspect and grade each book using professional standards. Every dust jacket is placed in acid-free archival quality acetate. Prior to leaving our warehouse, each item is prepared to ensure safe delivery.

Share your knowledge of this book with other customers... Be the first to write a review

Browse for more books in the same category as this item:

Mysteries > A - C
Collectibles > First Edition Books > Authors A - C
Collectibles > First Edition Books
Mysteries
Collectibles
New Coupon Category