You are here: Home > Our Authors > Mitchell, David

VJ Books Presents Author David Mitchell!

Author David MitchellDavid Mitchell (born January 12, 1969) was born in Southport in Merseyside, England, and raised in Malvern, Worcestershire. He was educated at Hanley Castle High School and at the University of Kent, where he obtained a degree in English and American Literature followed by an M.A. in Comparative Literature. Mitchell lived in Sicily for a year, then moved to Hiroshima, Japan, where he taught English to technical students for eight years, before returning to England, where he could live on his earnings as a writer.

Mitchell's first novel, Ghostwritten (1999), moves around the globe, from Okinawa to Mongolia to pre-Millennial New York City, as nine narrators tell stories that interlock and intersect. Twice shortlisted for the Man Booker Prize, Mitchell was named one of the 100 most influential people in the world by TIME magazine in 2007. With KA Yoshida, Mitchell co-translated from the Japanese the international bestselling memoir, The Reason I Jump.

He lives in Ireland with his wife and two children.

David Mitchell Book List and Awards
His website:
Similar authors: Michael Chabon, William Gibson, Sarah Waters
Follow him on Facebook
Follow him on Twitter

Slade House
Signed First Edition

Slade House by David Mitchell
Sort By:
Page of 1
Mitchell, David | Utopia Avenue | Signed First Edition Book Mitchell, David | Utopia Avenue | Signed First Edition Book

Author Signed Hardcover Book. July 2020 NY: Random House First edition, first printing, mint, new/unread in a flawless dust jacket, signed by author. Each dust jacket is protected in an acid-free archival quality acetate cover.

Usually Ships in 24 to 72 Hours
VJ Books Price $39.99

David Mitchell Bibliography

  • Ghostwritten - 1999
  • number9dream - 2001
  • Cloud Atlas - 2004
  • Black Swan Green - 2006
  • The Thousand Autumns of Jacob de Zoet - 2010
  • The Bone Clocks - 2014
  • Slade House - 2015


  • The Reason I Jump: One Boy's Voice from the Silence of Autism, 2013 (translation of Naoki Higashida's work)

David Mitchell Awards

  • John Llewellyn Rhys Prize for best work of British literature written by an author under 35
Go to top of page