You are here: Home > Our Authors > Harris, Joanne

VJ Books Features Joanne Harris!

Author Joanne HarrisJoanne Harris was born in Barnsley in 1964, of a French mother and an English father. She studied Modern and Medieval Languages at Cambridge and was a teacher for fifteen years, during which time she published three novels, including Chocolat (1999), which was made into an Oscar-nominated film starring Juliette Binoche and Johnny Depp.

Since then, she has written 15 more novels, two collections of short stories, a Doctor Who novella, guest episodes for the game Zombies, Run and three cookbooks. Her books are now published in over 50 countries and have won a number of British and international awards. She is an honorary Fellow of St Catharine's College, Cambridge, has honorary doctorates in literature from the universities of Sheffield and Huddersfield, and has been a judge for the Whitbread Prize, the Orange Prize, the Desmond Elliott Prize and the Royal Society Winton Prize for Science.

Her hobbies are listed in Who's Who as: "mooching, lounging, strutting, strumming, priest-baiting and quiet subversion of the system", although she also enjoys obfuscation, sleaze, rebellion, witchcraft, armed robbery, tea and biscuits. She is not above bribery and would not necessarily refuse an offer involving exotic travel or pink champagne. She works from a shed in her garden, plays bass in the band she first joined when she was 16, is currently writing a screenplay and lives with her husband and daughter in a little wood in Yorkshire.

Joanne Harris Book List
Her website:
Follow her on Facebook
Follow her on Twitter
Sort By:
Page of 1
Different Class | Harris, Joanne | Signed First Edition Book Harris, Joanne | Different Class | Signed First Edition Copy

Author Signed Hardcover Book. January 2017 NY: Touchstone First edition, first printing, mint, new/unread in a flawless dust jacket, signed by the author.

Usually Ships in 3 to 5 Days
VJ Books Price $39.99

Joanne Harris Bibliography

  • The Evil Seed (1989)
  • Sleep, Pale Sister (1993)
  • Chocolat (1999)
  • Blackberry Wine (2000)
  • Five Quarters of the Orange (2001)
  • The French Kitchen, A Cook Book (2002)
  • Coastliners (2002)
  • Holy Fools (2003)
  • Jigs & Reels (2004)
  • Gentlemen & Players (2005)
  • The French Market (2005)
  • The Lollipop Shoes (2007) (US title: The Girl With No Shadow, April 2008)
  • Runemarks (2007 in the UK, 2008 in the US)
  • Blueeyedboy (1 April 2010 in the UK)
  • Runelight (September 2011 in the UK)
  • Peaches for Monsieur le Curé (May 2012) (US title: Peaches for Father Francis, October 2012)
  • A Cat, a Hat and a Piece of String (October 2012)
  • The Gospel of Loki (February 2014), as Joanne M. Harris
  • The Little Book of Chocolat (March 2014), with Fran Warde
  • The Loneliness of the Long-Distance Time Traveller (October 2014) Dr Who novella.
  • Different Class (2016)

Go to top of page