You are here: Home > Our Authors > Maynard, Joyce

VJ Books Presents Author Joyce Maynard!

Author Joyce MaynardDaphne Joyce Maynard was born in Durham, New Hampshire on November 5, 1953. Maynard is the author of fifteen books, including the novel To Die For and the best-selling memoir, At Home in the World. Her novel, Labor Day, became a motion picture in theaters January 2014, adapted and directed by Jason Reitman, and starring Kate Winslet and Josh Brolin. Her latest novel, Under the Influence, will be released February 2016.

Maynard first came to national attention with the publication of her New York Times cover story, "An Eighteen Year Old Looks Back on Life", in 1973, when she was a freshman at Yale.

Maynard has been a reporter and columnist for The New York Times, a syndicated newspaper columnist whose "Domestic Affairs" column appeared in over fifty papers nationwide, a regular contributor to NPR and national magazines including Vogue, O, The Oprah Magazine, Newsweek, The New York Times Magazine, MORE, Salon, and many more. Her essays have been widely published in collections, and featured in The New York Times. As a fiction writer she has been a fellow at the MacDowell Colony and Yaddo.

Maynard has taught at writing programs around the country, and runs workshops in both fiction and memoir at her home in Oakland, California. She also runs workshops at other sites in the US and internationally, including the Lake Atitlan Writing Workshop in San Marcos La Laguna, Guatemala, which she founded in 2002. She performs as a storyteller with The Moth in New York City and with Porchlight in San Francisco.

Joyce got married in June 2013, after twenty five years as a single person. She is the mother of three grown children.

Joyce Maynard Book List
Her website:
Similar authors: Joyce Carol Oates, Alice Hoffman, Ivy Pochoda
Follow her on Facebook
Follow her on Twitter

Under the Influence
Signed First Edition

Under the Influence by Brian Panowich
Sort By:
Page of 1
Under the Influence | Maynard, Joyce | Signed First Edition Book Maynard, Joyce | Under the Influence | Signed First Edition Copy

Author Signed Hardcover Book. February 2016 NY: Harper   First edition, first printing, mint, new/unread in a flawless dust jacket, signed by the author.

Usually Ships in 3 to 5 Days
VJ Books Price $39.99

Joyce Maynard Bibliography


  • Baby Love - 1981
  • To Die For - 1992
  • Where Love Goes - 1995
  • The Usual Rules - 2003
  • The Cloud Chamber - 2005
  • Labor Day - 2009
  • The Good Daughters - 2010
  • After Her - 2013


  • Looking Back - 1973
  • Domestic Affairs - 1987
  • At Home In The World - 1998
  • Internal Combustion - 2006
  • "A Good Girl Goes Bad" - 2007, in Bad Girls: 26 Writers Misbehave, edited by Ellen Sussman.
  • "Your Friend Always" - 2007, in Mr. Wrong: Real-Life Stories About the Men We Used to Love, edited by Harriet Brown.
  • "Someone Like Me, But Younger" - 2009, in The Face in the Mirror: Writers Reflect on Their Dreams of Youth and the Reality of Age, edited by Victoria Zackheim.
  • "Straw into Gold" - 2013 in Knitting Yarns: Writers on Knitting, edited by Ann Hood, published by W. W. Norton & Company.

Go to top of page