You are here: Home > Our Authors > Richards, Justin

VJ Books Presents Author Justin Richards!

Author Justin RichardsJustin Richards was born on September 14, 1961 in Epping, Essex (England). He earned a BA (Hons) in English and Theatre at the University of Warwick. As well as his literary career, Richards has worked as a technical writer, editor, programmer, and user interface designer at IBM, and as an errand boy in a hotel.

Although he is now best known as a children's writer, Richards is also the author of dozens of genre and science fiction novels, as well as non-fiction books, audio scripts, television and a stage play.

Richards is the author of the popular children's series The Invisible Detective, and also the series Time Runners. For younger children, Justin writes the Agent Alfie series - about a boy who finds himself at a school for the children of spies and secret agents. Though Alfie's own dad is a postman.

Richards' novel for older children - The Death Collector - was first published in 2006, followed by The Chaos Code in 2007 and The Parliament of Blood in 2008, with The Chamber of Shadows following in 2010. His series The School of Night also started in Autumn 2010.

He has co-written several action thrillers for older children with the acknowledged master of the genre Jack Higgins. Justin acts as Creative Consultant to BBC Books' range of Doctor Who titles, advising on the commissioning and editing of all the company's Doctor Who titles as well as writing quite a few himself.

Married with two children (both boys), Richards lives and works in Warwick, within sight of one of Britain's best-preserved castles.

Justin Richards Book List
His website:
Similar authors: Neil Gaiman, Stephen Gallagher, Jack Higgins, Robert Ludlum
Follow him on Facebook
Follow him on Twitter

Blood Red City
Signed First Edition

Blood Red City by Justin Richards

Justin Richards *Select Bibliography

Station Z Series

  1. Suicide Exhibition - 2015
  2. Blood Red City - Coming March 2016

Chance Twins Series (written with Jack Higgins)

  1. Sure Fire - 2006
  2. Death Run - 2007
  3. Sharp Shot - 2009
  4. First Strike - 2009

*See a list of his other books on his website

Go to top of page