You are here: Home > Our Authors > Bujold, Lois McMaster

VJ Books Presents Author Lois McMaster Bujold!

Lois McMaster BujoldLois McMaster Bujold was born on November 2, 1949 in Columbus, Ohio. She attended Ohio State University from 1968 to 1972. Bujold dabbled in English as a major in college but found that her heart was in the creative, not the critical end of things. After college, she worked as a pharmacy technician at the Ohio State University Hospitals until she quit to start a family.

Bujold is best known for her Vorkosigan saga, a series of novels featuring Miles Vorkosigan, a physically impaired interstellar spy and mercenary admiral from the planet Barrayar, set approximately 1000 years in the future.

Her first novel, Shards of Honor, was completed in 1983. In late 1984, she sold one of her short stories to Twilight Zone Magazine. In 1985, Baen Books bought her first three completed novels. Analog Magazine serialized her fourth novel, Falling Free, in the winter of '87-'88 and it went on to win Bujold her first Nebula.

Bujold was editor, along with Roland Green, of the anthology Women at War which was published by Tor Books in 1995.

She lives in Minneapolis, Minnesota.

Lois McMaster Bujold Book List and Awards
Her website:
Similar authors: Kevin J. Anderson, David Brin, Orson Scott Card, David Weber
Follow her on Facebook
Follow her on Twitter

Gentleman Jole and the Red Queen
Signed First Edition

Gentleman Jole and the Red Queen by Lois McMaster Bujold

Lois McMaster Bujold *Partial Bibliography

Vorkosigan Series

  • Shards of Honor - 1986
  • The Warrior's Apprentice - 1986
  • Ethan of Athos - 1986
  • Falling Free - 1988
  • Borders of Infinity - 1989
  • Brothers in Arms - 1990
  • The Vor Game - 1990
  • Barrayar - 1991
  • Mirror Dance - 1994
  • Cetaganda - 1995
  • Memory - 1996
  • Komarr - 1998
  • A Civil Campaign - 1999
  • Diplomatic Immunity - 2002
  • Cryoburn - 2010
  • Captain Vorpatril's Alliance - 2012
  • Gentleman Jole and the Red Queen - Coming March 2016

*To see a complete list of Bujold's works, please click here

Lois McMaster Bujold Awards

  • Hugo Awards for "The Mountains of Mourning", "The Vor Game", "Barrayar", "Mirror Dance", and "Paladin of Souls"
  • Nebula Awards for "Falling Free", The Mountains of Mourning", and "Paladin of Souls"
  • Locus Awards Best Science Fiction Novel for "Barrayar" and "Mirror Dance"
  • Locus Award Best Fantasy Novel for "Paladin of Souls"
Go to top of page