You are here: Home > Our Authors > James, P.D.

VJ Books Presents Author P.D. James!

P.D. James Phyllis Dorothy James, Baroness James of Holland Park, OBE, FRSA, FRSL (3 August 1920 - 27 November 2014), known as P. D. James, was an English crime writer. She rose to fame for her series of detective novels starring police commander and poet Adam Dalgliesh.

James wrote her first novel, Cover Her Face, in her late thirties. It was accepted by the first publisher to whom it was sent and was published in 1962.

She spent thirty years in various departments of the British Civil Service, including the Police and Criminal Law Department of Great Britain's Home Office. She has served as a magistrate and as a governor of the BBC. In 2000 she celebrated her eightieth birthday and published her autobiography, Time to Be in Earnest. The recipient of many prizes and honors, she was created Baroness James of Holland Park in 1991.

Death Comes to Pemberley (published in 2011), was made into a two-part PBS Masterpiece Theatre TV series in 2014. A video trailer for the TV series is below.

James died at her home in Oxford on 27 November 2014, aged 94. She is survived by her two daughters, Clare and Jane, five grandchildren and eight great-grandchildren.

P.D. James Book List and Awards
Similar authors: Linda Barnes, Martha Grimes, P.J. Tracy, Jackqueline Winspear

Death Comes to Pemberley
Signed UK Edition

Death Comes to Pemberley by P.D. James

P.D. James Bibliography

Adam Dalgliesh Mysteries

  1. Cover Her Face - 1962
  2. A Mind to Murder - 1963
  3. Unnatural Causes - 1967
  4. Shroud for a Nightingale - 1971
  5. The Black Tower - 1975
  6. Death of an Expert Witness - 1977
  7. A Taste for Death - 1986
  8. Devices and Desires - 1989
  9. Original Sin - 1994
  10. A Certain Justice - 1997
  11. Death in Holy Orders - 2001
  12. The Murder Room - 2003
  13. The Lighthouse - 2005
  14. The Private Patient - 2008

Cordelia Gray Mysteries

  1. An Unsuitable Job for a Woman - 1972
  2. The Skull Beneath the Skin - 1982

Miscellaneous Novels

  • Innocent Blood - 1980
  • The Children of Men - 1992
  • Death Comes to Pemberley - 2011


  • The Maul and the Pear Tree: The Ratcliffe Highway Murders 1811 - 1971 (with Thomas A. Critchley)
  • Time to Be in Earnest: A Fragment of Autobiography
  • Talking About Detective Fiction - 2009

P.D. James Awards

  • Crime Writers' Association (CWA) Macallan Silver Dagger for Fiction: Shroud for a Nightingale - 1972
  • CWA Macallan Silver Dagger for Fiction: The Black Tower - 1976
  • CWA Macallan Silver Dagger for Fiction: A Taste for Death - 1987
  • CWA Cartier Diamond Dagger Lifetime Achievement Awards - 1987
  • Deo Gloria Award: The Children of Men - 1992
  • The Best Translated Crime Fiction of the Year in Japan, Kono Mystery ga Sugoi! 1992: Devices and Desires - 1992
  • Grandmaster Award, Mystery Writers of America - 1999
  • Best Critical Nonfiction Anthony Award for Talking About Detective Fiction - 2010
  • Nick Clarke Award for interview with Director-General of the BBC Mark Thompson whilst guest editor of Today radio programme - 2010

Go to top of page