Home > Collectibles > Signed Books > Authors O - R >

Preston, Douglas | Monster of Florence, The | Signed First Large Print Edition Book
Monster of Florence, The | Preston, Douglas | Signed First Large Print Edition Book


 
THE MONSTER OF FLORENCE by Douglas Preston
AUTHOR AUTOGRAPHED LARGE PRINT BOOK


First large print edition, first printing, fine in a fine dust jacket in archival acetate cover, signed by the author, remainder marked. June 2008 NY: Grand Central Publishing ISBN 9780446505345
VJ Books Price $12.99
Bargain Blast $6.50 --> Learn more about Remainder Marks
You save $6.49!

Purchase this book and earn 1000 points --> Learn more about MyRewards
Monster of Florence, The
Signed 1st Edition (rm)


Availability: Usually Ships in 24 to 72 Hours

Book Description
 

THE MONSTER OF FLORENCE by Douglas Preston - SIGNED FIRST LARGE PRINT EDITION BOOK

See all titles by Douglas Preston.

In the tradition of John Berendt’s Midnight in the Garden of Good and Evil and Erik Larson’s The Devil in the White City, Douglas Preston weaves a captivating account of crime and punishment in the lush hills of Florence, Italy.

Douglas Preston fulfilled a lifelong dream when he moved with his family to a villa in Florence. Upon meeting celebrated journalist Mario Spezi, Preston was stunned to learn that the olive grove next to his home had been the scene of a horrific double murder committed by one of the most infamous figures in Italian history. A serial killer who ritually murdered fourteen young lovers, he has never been caught. He is known as the Monster of Florence.

Fascinated by the tale, Preston began to work with Spezi on the case. Here is the true story of their search to uncover and confront the man they believe is the Monster. In an ironic twist of fate that echoes the dark traditions of the city’s bloody history, Preston and Spezi themselves became targets of a bizarre police investigation.

With the gripping suspense of Preston’s bestselling novels, THE MONSTER OF FLORENCE tells a remarkable and harrowing chronicle of murder, mutilation, suicide, and vengeance—with Preston and Spezi caught in a bizarre prosecutorial vendetta.

Mario Spezi, a highly decorated journalist, has covered many of the most important criminal cases in Italy, including those involving terrorism and the Mafia, and has been investigating the Monster of Florence case since its beginning. He has also published both fiction and nonfiction books in Italy and several other countries.

From THE MONSTER OF FLORENCE

"We asked Natalino Mele what he remembered of the night of August 21, 1968, when his mother was murdered. The question set him off.

“I was six years old!” he cried. He had been so terrified he couldn’t speak at all, until his carabinieri interrogators threatened to take him back to his dead mother. As Natalino spoke of the merciless questioning, his voice filled with anguish. “I told them I couldn’t remember anything. Anything. Except one thing. There is one thing I remembered!” He paused, drawing in breath. “I opened my eyes in that car and I saw, in front of me, my mamma—dead. That’s the only thing I remember of that night. And,” he said, his voice breaking, “that’s the only memory I have of her now.”

Assurance of Quality
VJ Books provides the finest in signed first editions and collectible books. In so doing, we consistently inspect and grade each book using professional standards. Every dust jacket is placed in acid-free archival quality acetate. Prior to leaving our warehouse, each item is prepared to ensure safe delivery.

Share your knowledge of this book with other customers... Be the first to write a review

Browse for more books in the same category as this item:

Collectibles > Signed Books > Authors O - R
Mysteries > O - R
Collectibles > Signed Books
Mysteries
Collectibles
Sales & Coupons > Bargain Books