You are here: Home > Our Authors > Donaldson, Stephen R.

VJ Books Presents Author Stephen R. Donaldson!

Author Stephen R. Donaldson
THE KILLING GOD (November 2022) is the final book in "The Great God's War" trilogy that began with the SEVENTH DECIMATE. It features fantasy kingdoms Amika and Belleger, who fight "against each other in a sorcery-saturated battle of mutual destruction, with a charismatic prince searching for a legendary conjuror's library. The second book in the series, THE WAR WITHIN, was released in 2019.

Donaldson's most celebrated series is The Chronicles of Thomas Covenant, which centers on a cynical leper, shunned by society, who is destined to become the heroic savior of another world. Covenant struggles against the tyrannical Lord Foul, who intends to break the physical universe in order to escape his bondage and wreak revenge upon his arch enemy, The Creator. The Chronicles were originally published as two trilogies of novels between 1977 and 1983. According to his publisher those two series sold more than 10 million copies. A third series, The Last Chronicles of Thomas Covenant, began publication in 2004 with the novel THE RUNES OF EARTH. With the second book of that series, FATAL REVENANT, Donaldson again attained bestseller status when the book climbed to the top of the New York Times Bestseller List.

Our current inventory of Stephen R. Donaldson can be found below.

Stephen R. Donaldson Book List
Author's website:
Similar authors: Kevin J. Anderson, Jim Butcher, Orson Scott Card

Seventh Decimate

Signed First Edition

Seventh Decimate by Stephen R. Donaldson

Runes of the Earth

Signed First Edition

Runes of the Earth by Stephen R. Donaldson

Stephen R. Donaldson Bibliography

  • Lord Foul's Bane - 1977
  • The Illearth War - 1977
  • The Power that Preserves - 1977
  • The Lady in White, The Year's Finest Fantasy 2 - 1979
  • The Wounded Land - 1980
  • The Man Who Killed His Brother - 2002
  • Gilden-Fire, Underwood-Miller - 1981
  • Cinderella vs The Publishing Business, Wooster Alumni Magazine, 1981
  • The One Tree - 1982
  • "Mythological Beast" ed. Jack Dann and Gardner Dozois, Ace, 1982
  • White Gold Wielder - 1983
  • Daughter of Regals - 1984
  • Daughter of Regals and Other Tales - 1984
  • The Man Who Risked His Partner - Paperback 1984; Hardcover 2003
  • "What Makes Us Human," The 1985 Annual World's Best SF, ed. Donald A. Wollheim, DAW - 1985
  • "Elegy," The Wooster Review, ed. Katherine Harper and Warren Hedges, #3, Spring 1985
  • "Animal Lover," Tin Stars, ed. Isaac Asimov, Martin H. Greenberg, and Charles G. Waugh - 1986
  • "Epic Fantasy in the Modern World: A Few Observations," Kent State University Libraries - 1986
  • Mordant's Need: The Mirror of Her Dreams - 1986
  • "The Books That Made a Difference," ed. Ginger Curwen, Booksellers Publishing, Inc., June 1987
  • Mordant's Need: A Man Rides Through - 1987
  • "Unworthy of the Angel," A Very Large Array, ed. Melinda M. Snodgrass, University of New Mexico Press, 1987
  • "The Djinn Who Watches Over the Accursed," Arabesques 2, ed. Susan Shwartz, Avon, 1989
  • The Man Who Tried to Get Away - 2004
  • The Gap into Conflict: The Real Story - 1991
  • The Gap into Vision: Forbidden Knowledge - 1991
  • "The Conqueror Worm," I Shudder at Your Touch, ed. Michele Slung, ROC/NAL, 1991
  • The Gap into Power: A Dark and Hungry God Arises - 1992
  • "Reave the Just," After the King, ed. Martin H. Greenberg, Tor, 1992
  • "The Live Poets Society," Thinker Review, ed. Fielding and Whitehead, Summer 1992, Volume No. II
  • "The Woman Who Loved Pigs," Full Spectrum 4, ed. Aronica, Stout, and Mitchell - 1993
  • Strange Dreams (editor) - 1993
  • The Gap into Madness: Chaos and Order - 1994
  • "The Kings of Tarshish Shall Bring Gifts," The Book of Kings, ed. Gilliam and Greenberg, ROC, 1995
  • The Gap into Ruin: This Day All Gods Die - 1996
  • Reave the Just and Other Tales - 1999
  • The Man Who Fought Alone, Tor, 2001
  • "The Aging Student of the Martial Arts," Shotokan Karate Magazine, ed. John Cheetham, #79, 2004
  • The Runes of the Earth - UK 2004
  • Fatal Revenant - US 2007; UK - 2007
  • Against All Things Ending - US 2010; UK 2010
  • "The Best of Stephen R. Donaldson," Subterranean Press, 2011
  • The Last Dark - US 2013; UK 2013
  • "Epic Fantasy: Necessary Literature," The New York Review of Science Fiction, ed. Kevin J. Maroney, February 2015
  • The King's Justice: Two Novellas - 2015
  • THE Augur's Gambit and The King's Justice - 2016
  • The Seventh Decimate - November 2017
Go to top of page