Home > Sales & Coupons > Bargain Books >

Schumacher, Tony | Darkest Hour, The | Signed First Edition Copy
The Darkest Hour | Schumacher, Tony | Signed First Edition Book


 
THE DARKEST HOUR by Tony Schumacher
AUTHOR AUTOGRAPHED HARDCOVER BOOK


First edition, first printing, fine in a fine dust jacket in archival acetate cover, signed by the author, remainder marked. September 2014 NY: William Morrow ISBN 9780062339362
VJ Books Price $21.99 --> Learn more about Remainder Marks

Purchase this book and earn 1000 points --> Learn more about MyRewards
Darkest Hour, The
Signed 1st Edition (rm)


Availability: Usually Ships in 24 to 72 Hours

Book Description
 

THE DARKEST HOUR by Tony Schumacher - SIGNED FIRST EDITION BOOK


“[A] convincing and swift-moving debut.… Schumacher’s assured and atmospheric writing make this a memorable novel, reminiscent of writers from John Buchan to Ken Follett, and of directors from Alfred Hitchcock to Carol Reed.” — Wall Street Journal

In this crackling, highly imaginative thriller debut in the vein of W.E.B. Griffin and Philip Kerr, set in German-occupied London at the close of World War II, a hardened, dispirited British detective jeopardizes his own life to save someone else and achieve the impossible—some kind of redemption.

London, 1946. The Nazis have won the war and now occupy Great Britain, using brutality and fear to control its citizens. They even use it to control those who work for them. John Henry Rossett, a decorated British war hero and former police sergeant, is one of those unlucky souls. He’s a man accustomed to obeying commands, but he’s now assigned a job he didn’t ask for and knows he cannot refuse: rounding up Jews for deportation, including men and women he’s known his whole life. Robbed of his family by a resistance bomb, and robbed of his humanity by the work he is forced to do, fate suddenly presents Rossett with an unexpected challenge that could change everything. He finds a boy hiding in an abandoned building and is faced with a momentous decision—to do something or to look the other way—yet whatever Rossett does, he will be pushed into a place where he could endanger all he holds dear.

Played out against a city in ruin, a place divided between the conquered and the conquerors, The Darkest Hour is a tense, driving adventure thriller, a fascinating alternate history, and the unforgettable story of a man who will be broken—or given a completely new lease on life.

Assurance of Quality
VJ Books provides the finest in signed first editions and collectible books. In so doing, we consistently inspect and grade each book using professional standards. Every dust jacket is placed in acid-free archival quality acetate. Prior to leaving our warehouse, each item is prepared to ensure safe delivery.

Share your knowledge of this book with other customers... Be the first to write a review

Browse for more books in the same category as this item:

Sales & Coupons > Bargain Books
Collectibles > Signed Books
Mysteries
Collectibles > Signed Books > Authors S - Z
Mysteries > S - Z
Collectibles