Home > Collectibles > Signed Books > Authors A - C >

Booth, Stephen | Black Dog | Signed First Edition Copy
Black Dog | Booth, Stephen | Signed First Edition Book


 
BLACK DOG by Stephen Booth
AUTHOR AUTOGRAPHED HARDCOVER BOOK


First edition, first printing, mint, new/unread in a flawless dust jacket in archival acetate cover, signed by the author. 2000 NY: Scribner ISBN 9780684873015
VJ Books Price $49.99


Availability: Usually Ships in 24 to 72 Hours

Book Description
 

BLACK DOG by Stephen Booth - SIGNED FIRST EDITION BOOK



See all titles by Stephen Booth.

Every once in a while a new writer comes along with the voice, the passion, the originality, and the humanity to become a star. Such a writer is Stephen Booth, whose debut suspense novel Black Dog is already a bestseller in Britain.

It's a long, hot summer in Northern England's Peak District, where police helicopters darken blue skies and drown out the sound of birdsong. Fifteen-year-old Laura Vernon, smart, sexy, and the keeper of many secrets, is missing. Possibly she has run off to London. Possibly she's dead. The police search, the wealthy parents wait by the phone. Detective Constable Ben Cooper quietly dreads the worst.

When retired miner Harry Dickinson and his black Labrador find the body lying in the woods, Harry's strangely obstinate refusal to cooperate with the investigation raises more than a few eyebrows.

What about the parents? Graham Vernon is a man who knows all about secrets. What are he and his glamorous wife holding back?

Ben Cooper, who lives with a personal tragedy and who has known the villagers all his life, finds himself uneasily teamed with an ambitious newcomer, Detective Constable Diane Fry, who has her own secrets. As Ben and Diane begin a complicated dance of suspicion, attraction, and frustration, they discover that to understand the present, they must also understand the past. Loyalty, betrayal, friendship, family -- what do they mean, and what happens when loyalties clash?

In the tradition of Reginald Hill, Minette Walters, Barbara Vine, and Peter Robinson, this richly textured, evocative, stylish novel marks the auspicious debut of a major crime-writing talent.

Assurance of Quality
VJ Books provides the finest in signed first editions and collectible books. In so doing, we consistently inspect and grade each book using professional standards. Every dust jacket is placed in acid-free archival quality acetate. Prior to leaving our warehouse, each item is prepared to ensure safe delivery.

Share your knowledge of this book with other customers... Be the first to write a review

Browse for more books in the same category as this item:

Collectibles > Signed Books > Authors A - C
Mysteries > A - C
Books by Author > Search By Author > Booth, Stephen
Collectibles > Signed Books
Mysteries
Collectibles
New Coupon Category