You are here: Home > Our Authors > Arruda, Suzanne

VJ Books Presents Author Suzanne Arruda!

Suzanne ArrudaSuzanne Arruda, a former zookeeper-turned-science teacher and freelance writer, is the author several biographies for young adults. She has also published science and nature articles for adults and children and is a regular contributor to a weekly newspaper supplement.

Arruda grew up in Greensburg, Indiana, where her interests generally revolved around the outdoors or animals. She received a masters degree in wildlife ecology. After that she worked for Kansas Department of Wildlife and Parks in their Pratt museum, then as a research assistant on the Konza Prairie at Kansas State University. Suzanne earned a Master's in Education in order to pursue a teaching career.

When Arruda began writing, she targeted the children's magazine market and then branched into the adult market. She has written seven novels in the Jade del Cameron Series.

Arruda is a member of the Mystery Writer's of America, Sisters in Crime (SInC), the "Border Crimes" Chapter of Sisters in Crime, and the Missouri Writer's Guild and is a charter member of the southeast Kansas Chapter of Women in the Outdoors.

Suzanne is an avid hiker and outdoorswoman and lives in Kansas.

Suzanne Arruda Book List
Her blog:
Similar authors: Anne Perry, Elizabeth Peters, Jacqueline Winspear
Follow her on Facebook
Follow her on Twitter

Stalking Ivory
First Edition

Stalking Ivory by Suzanne Arruda

Suzanne Arruda Bibliography

The Jade Series

  1. Mark of the Lion - 2006
  2. Stalking Ivory - 2007
  3. The Serpent's Daughter - 2008
  4. The Leopard's Prey - 2009
  5. Treasure of the Golden Cheetah - 2009
  6. The Crocodile's Last Embrace - 2010
  7. Devil Dance - 2015


  • From Kansas to Cannibals: The Story of Osa Johnson - 2001
  • Freedom's Martyr: The Story of Jose Rizal, National Hero of the Phillipines - 2003
  • Girl He Left Behind: The Life and Times of Libbie Custer - 2004

Go to top of page