You are here: Home > Our Authors > Allende, Isabel

VJ Books Presents Author Isabel Allende!

Author Alex Kava Isabel Allende—novelist, feminist, and philanthropist—is one of the most widely-read authors in the world, having sold more than 75 million books. Chilean born in Peru, Isabel won worldwide acclaim in 1982 with the publication of her first novel, The House of the Spirits, which began as a letter to her dying grandfather. Since then, she has authored more than twenty five bestselling and critically acclaimed books, including Daughter of Fortune, Island Beneath the Sea, Paula, The Japanese Lover, A Long Petal of the Sea and her most recent memoir, The Soul of a Woman. Translated into more than forty two languages, Allende’s works entertain and educate readers by interweaving imaginative stories with significant historical events.

In addition to her work as a writer, Allende devotes much of her time to human rights causes. In 1996, following the death of her daughter Paula, she established a charitable foundation in her honor, which has awarded grants to more than 100 nonprofits worldwide, delivering life-changing care to hundreds of thousands of women and girls. More than 8 million have watched her TED Talks on leading a passionate life.

She has received fifteen honorary doctorates, including one from Harvard University, was inducted into the California Hall of Fame, received the PEN Center Lifetime Achievement Award, and the Anisfield-Wolf Lifetime Achievement Award. In 2014, President Barack Obama awarded Allende the Presidential Medal of Freedom, the nation’s highest civilian honor, and in 2018 she received the Medal for Distinguished Contribution to American Letters from the National Book Foundation. She lives in California.

Isabel Allende Book List and Awards
Her website:
Follow her on Facebook
Follow her on Twitter

The Soul of a Woman
Signed First Edition

The Soul of a Woman by Isabel Allende

Signed First Edition

Ripper by Isabel Allende

Maya's Notebook
Signed First Edition

Maya's Notebook by Isabel Allende

Isabel Allende Bibliography

Fiction Novels

  • The House of the Spirits - 1982
  • The Porcelain Fat Lady - 1984
  • Of Love and Shadows - 1985
  • Eva Luna - 1987
  • Two Words - 1989
  • The Stories of Eva Luna - 1989
  • The Infinite Plan - 1991
  • Daughter of Fortune - 1999
  • Portrait in Sepia - 2000
  • City of the Beasts - 2002
  • Kingdom of the Golden Dragon - 2004
  • Zorro - 2005
  • Forest of the Pygmies - 2005
  • Ines of My Soul - 2006
  • Island Beneath the Sea - 2010
  • Maya's Notebook - 2011
  • Ripper - 2014
  • The Japanese Lover - 2015
  • In the Midst of Winter - 2017
  • A Long Petal of the Sea - 2019


  • Paula - 1994
  • Aphrodite: A Memoir of the Senses - 1998
  • My Invented Country: A Memoir - 2003
  • The Sum of Our Days: A Memoir - 2008
  • The Soul of a Woman - 2021

Selected Awards

  • Best Novel of the Year (Chile, 1983)
  • Panorama Literario Award (Chile, 1983)
  • Author of the Year (Germany, 1984)
  • Book of the Year (Germany, 1984)
  • Grand Prix d’Evasion Award (France, 1984)
  • Mulheres Best Foreign Novel Award (Portugal, 1987)
  • Quimera Libros Award (Chile, 1987)
  • Book of the Year (Switzerland, 1987)
  • Best Novel (Mexico, 1985)
  • Author of the Year (Germany, 1986)
  • Freedom to Write Award, PEN Center West (USA, 1991)
  • XLI Bancarella Literary Award (Italy, 1993)
  • Brandeis University Major Book Collection Award (USA, 1993)
  • Critics’ Choice Award (USA, 1996)
  • Books to Remember Award, American Library Association (USA, 1996)
  • WILLA Literary Award 2000 (USA, 2000)
  • Excellence in International Literature and Arts (USA, 2000)
  • Carl Sandburg Literary Award (USA, 2013)

Go to top of page