You are here: Home > Our Authors > Abbott, Jeff

VJ Books Presents Author Jeff Abbott!

Author Jeff AbbottJeff Abbott was born in Dallas, Texas in 1963. He grew up there and in Austin, with the summers spent in small towns visiting family. As a child he read everything, and lots of it. In high school, Abbott was writing all the time--he wrote his first manuscript, which weighed in at 500 pages.

Abbott earned a degree in History and English from Rice University, and following graduation he worked at software companies doing creative work, and later in advertising. He honed his writing skills through his twenties, and the second book he completed during this period in his life was published in 1994 under the title Do Unto Others. It promptly won the Agatha Award and the Macavity Award for best first novel. He wrote three more books in the Jordan Poteet series, and then began a new series following judge and coroner Whit Mosley, and his latest, the Sam Capra series, has moved fully from detective fiction into the thriller genre.

Abbott's work has made it's way onto the New York Times bestseller list, and won several awards, including a Thriller Award for Panic (2005). His books have also been bestsellers in the UK, Ireland, France, Germany, Australia, Portugal, and elsewhere.

Abbott lives in Austin with his wife and their two sons.

Jeff Abbott Book List and Awards
Author's website:
Similar authors: Alex Berenson, Alafair Burke, Eric Van Lustbader, Brad Taylor
Follow them on Facebook
Follow them on Twitter

Traitor's Dance
Signed First Edition

Traitor's Dance by Jeff Abbott

An Ambush of Widows
Signed First Edition

An Ambush of Widows by Jeff Abbott

Never Ask Me
Signed First Edition

Never Ask Me by Jeff Abbott

The Three Beths
Signed First Edition

The Three Beths by Jeff Abbott

Signed First Edition

Blame by Jeff Abbott

The First Order
Signed First Edition

The First Order by Jeff Abbott

Jeff Abbott Bibliography

Sam Capra Series

  1. Adrenaline – 2011
  2. The Last Minute – 2012
  3. Downfall – 2013
  4. Inside Man – 2014
  5. The First Order - 2016
  6. Traitor's Dance - 2022
  • Sam Capra's Last Chance - 2012 (1.5)

Standalone Novels

  • Panic – 2005
  • Fear – 2006
  • Collision – 2008
  • Trust Me – 2009
  • Blame - 2017
  • The Three Beths - 2018
  • Never Ask Me - 2020
  • An Ambush of Widows - 2021

Whit Mosley Series

  1. A Kiss Gone Bad – 2001
  2. Black Jack Point – 2002
  3. Cut and Run – 2003

Jordan Poteet Series

  1. Do Unto Others – 1994
  2. The Only Good Yankee - 1995
  3. Promises of Home - 1996
  4. Distant Blood - 1996

See all of Jeff’s short stories at his website:

Jeff Abbott Awards

  • 1994 - Agatha Award - Do Unto Others
  • 1994 - Macavity Award - Do Unto Others

Go to top of page