You are here: Home > Our Authors > Lehane, Dennis

VJ Books Presents Author Dennis Lehane!

Dennis Lehane Dennis Lehane grew up in the Dorchester section of Boston's inner-city. He has an MFA from Florida International University.

His first novel, A Drink Before the War, won the Shamus Award. Mystic River won the Anthony and Barry Awards for Best First Novel, the Dilys Award, and the Massachusetts Book Award in Fiction.

Lehane adapted his short story Animal Rescue, as a feature for the Chernin Company and Fox Searchlight.

Lehane was a staff writer on the acclaimed HBO series The Wire and a writer-producer on the 4th season of HBO's Boardwalk Empire. Lehane currently has three dramatic series in development at HBO, Showtime, and WGN America.

You can find a collection of Dennis Lehane signed books, including his latest novel, Small Mercies, below.

Lehane and his family live in California.

Dennis Lehane Book List and Awards
His website:
Similar authors: Lawrence Block, Stephen J. Cannell, Elmore Leonard, Don Winslow
Follow him on Facebook
Follow him on Twitter

Small Mercies
Signed First Edition

Small Mercies by Dennis Lehane

Since We Fell
Signed First Edition

Since We Fell by Dennis Lehane

World Gone By
Signed First Edition

World Gone By by Dennis Lehane

The Drop
Signed First Edition

The Drop by Dennis Lehane

Live by Night
Signed First Edition

Live by Night by Dennis Lehane

Moonlight Mile
Signed First Edition

Moonlight Mile by Dennis Lehane

Dennis Lehane Bibliography

Kenzie-Gennaro Novels

  1. A Drink Before the War - 1994
  2. Darkness, Take My Hand - 1996
  3. Sacred - 1997
  4. Gone, Baby, Gone - 1998
  5. Prayers for Rain - 1999
  6. Moonlight Mile - 2010

Coughlin Series

  1. The Given Day - 2008
  2. Live By Night - 2012
  3. World Gone By - 2015

Other Works

  • Mystic River - 2001
  • Shutter Island - 2003
  • Coronado: Stories - 2006
  • The Drop - 2014
  • Since We Fell - 2017
  • Small Mercies - 2023

Dennis Lehane Awards

  • Shamus Award for Best First Novel, 1995 for A Drink Before the War
  • Anthony Award for Best Novel, 2002 for Mystic River
  • Barry Award for Best Novel, 2002 for Mystic River
  • Independent Mystery Booksellers Association Dilys Award for Best Novel of the Year, 2002 for Mystic River
  • Massachusetts Book Award in Fiction, 2002 for Mystic River
  • Prix Mystère de la Critique, 2003 for Mystic River
  • Prix des Libraires (Quebec), 2003 for Mystic River
  • 2010 winner of el Premio del Gremio de Libreros de Madrid - Madrid booksellers' prize) for The Given Day
  • 2013 Edgar Award for Best Novel for Live By Night

Go to top of page