You are here: Home > Our Authors > Patchett, Ann

VJ Books Presents Author Ann Patchett!

Author Anne PatchettAnn Patchett is the author of over seven novels, and has written three books of nonfiction. In 2019, she published her first childrenís book, Lambslide, illustrated by Robin Preiss Glasser.

A graduate of Sarah Lawrence College and the Iowa Writerís Workshop, Patchett has been the recipient of numerous awards and fellowships, including Englandís Orange Prize, the PEN/Faulkner Award, the Harold D. Vursell Memorial Award from the American Academy of Arts and Letters, the Book Sense Book of the Year, a Guggenheim Fellowship, The Chicago Tribuneís Heartland Prize, The Governorís Award for Excellence in the Arts, the American Booksellerís Associationís Most Engaging Author Award, and the Womenís National Book Associationís Award. Her books have been both New York Times Notable Books and New York Times bestsellers. Her work has been translated into more than thirty languages.

In November, 2011, she opened Parnassus Books in Nashville, Tennessee, with her business partner Karen Hayes. She has since become a spokesperson for independent booksellers, championing books and bookstores. Along with James Patterson, she was the honorary chair of World Book Night. In 2012 she was named by Time magazine as one of the 100 Most Influential People in the World.

Ann Patchett lives in Nashville with her husband, Karl VanDevender, and their dog, Sparky.

Ann Patchett Book List
Her website:
Similar authors: Richard Russo Stephen L. Carter J.K. Rowling
Follow her on Facebook
Follow her on Twitter

These Precious Days
Signed First Edition

These Precious Days by Ann Patchett

The Dutch House
Signed First Edition

The Dutch House by Ann Patchett

Ann Patchett Bibliography


  • The Patron Saint of Liars - 1992
  • Taft - 1994
  • The Magician's Assistant - 1997
  • Bel Canto - 2001
  • Run - 2007
  • State of Wonder - 2011
  • Commonwealth - 2016
  • The Dutch House - 2019
  • These Precious Days - 2021


  • Truth and Beauty: A Friendship - 2004
  • What Now? - 2008
  • The Getaway Car: A Practical Memoir About Writing and Life - 2011
  • "The Mercies" - 2011
  • This is the Story of a Happy Marriage - 2013
  • "How Knitting Saved My Life. Twice" - 2013

Go to top of page