You are here: Home > Our Authors > Horowitz, Anthony

VJ Books Presents Author Anthony Horowitz!

Anthony HorowitzAnthony Horowitz was born in 1955 in Middlesex, England. He enjoyed reading and writing as a child and set his mind upon becoming a professional writer at a very young age. He earned a degree in English Literature from the University of York. His first book was bought for publication when he was 22 years old--a children's book, which he sold to Disney. This led him to begin writing Hollywood scripts.

Horowitz has tried his hand at journalism as well as writing for the stage and screens large and small. He has written over 40 novels, for children, teens, and adults. He is best known for his Alex Rider series and TV series Midsommer Murders and Foyle's War which he produced and created, respectively. He was also commissioned by the Conan Doyle and Ian Fleming estates to write The House of Silk (2011), featuring Sherlock Holmes and Trigger Mortis (2015), featuring James Bond. He has since written another book in each franchise. In 2014, he was awarded the Order of the British Empire for his services to literature. You can find a selection of Anthony Horowitz signed books below this author biography.

Beyond fiction, Horowitz contributes to numerous magazines and newspapers on various subjects including politics, education, and travel. He serves on the board of the Old Vic Theatre in London and is a patron to East Anglia Children's Hospices and the anti-bullying charity, Kidscape

Horowitz currently lives in Central London with his wife, Jill Green.

Anthony Horowitz Book List
Author's website:
Similar authors: Steve Berry, Jack Higgins, Laurie King, Jason Matthews
Follow them on Facebook
Follow them on Twitter

A Line to Kill

Signed UK Edition

A Line to Kill by Anthony Horowitz

Forever and a Day

Signed First Edition

Forever and a Day by Anthony Horowitz

The Word is Murder

Signed First Edition

The Word is Murder by Anthony Horowitz

Magpie Murders

Signed First Edition

Magpie Murders by Anthony Horowitz

Trigger Mortis
Signed First Canadian Edition

Trigger Mortis by Anthony Horowitz


Signed First Edition

Moriarty by Anthony Horowitz

Anthony Horowitz Selected Bibliography

Hawthorne and Horowitz Mysteries

  1. The Word is Murder - June 2018
  2. The Sentence is Death - 2018
  3. A Line to Kill - UK August 2021, US October 2021

Alex Rider

  • Stormbreaker - 2000
  • Point Blanc - 2001
  • Skeleton Key - 2002
  • Eagle Strike - 2003
  • Scorpia - 2004
  • Ark Angel - 2005
  • Snakehead - 2007
  • Crocodile Tears - 2009
  • Scorpia Rising - 2011
  • Russian Roulette - 2013
  • Never Say Die - October 2017

The Power of Five (The Gatekeepers)

  • Raven's Gate - 2005
  • Evil Star - 2006
  • Nightrise - 2007
  • Necropolis - 2008
  • Oblivion - 2012

The Diamond Brothers

  • The Falcon's Malteser - 1986
  • Public Enemy Number Two - 1987
  • South By South East - 1991/2002
  • The Blurred Man - 2003
  • The French Confection - 2003
  • The Greek Who Stole Christmas - 2008

Sherlock Holmes Novels

  • The House of Silk - 2011
  • Moriarty - 2014

James Bond Novels

  • Trigger Mortis - 2015
  • Forever and a Day - November 2018

Stand-Alone Novels

  • Granny - 1994
  • The Switch - 1996
  • The Devil and His Boy - 1998
  • Groosham Grange - 1988
  • Magpie Murders - 2016


  • Horowitz Horror - 1999
  • More Horowitz Horror - 2000

Anthony Horowitz Awards

  • 1989 - Lancashire Children's Book of the Year for Groosham Grange
  • OBE for Services to Literature - 2014

Go to top of page