You are here: Home > Our Authors > Moore, Christopher

VJ Books Presents Author Christopher Moore!

Author Christopher MooreChristopher Moore was born in Toledo, Ohio and grew up in Mansfield, Ohio. His father was a highway patrolman and his mother sold major appliances at a department store. He attended Ohio State University and Brooks Institute of Photography in Santa Barbara. He moved to California when he was 19 years old and lived on the Central Coast until 2003, when he moved to Hawaii.

Before publishing his first novel, Practical Demonkeeping in 1992, he worked as a roofer, a grocery clerk, a hotel night auditor, and insurance broker, a waiter, a photographer, and a rock and roll DJ. Chris has drawn on all of these work experiences to create the characters in his books.

Moore's novels typically involve conflicted everyman characters suddenly struggling through supernatural or extraordinary circumstances. Inheriting a humanism from his love of John Steinbeck and a sense of the absurd from Kurt Vonnegut, Moore is a best-selling author with major cult status.

When he's not writing, Chris enjoys ocean kayaking, scuba diving, photography, and painting with acrylics and oils. He lives in San Francisco..

Christopher Moore Book List
His website:
Similar authors: Josh Bazell, Neil Gaiman, Carl Hiaasen, Tom Robbins
Follow him on Facebook
Follow him on Twitter

Signed First Edition

Razzmatazz by Christopher Moore

Shakespeare for Squirrels
Signed First Edition

Shakespeare for Squirrels by Christopher Moore

Signed First Edition

Noir by Christopher Moore

Secondhand Souls
Signed First Edition

Secondhand Souls by Christopher Moore

Christopher Moore Bibliography


  • Practical Demonkeeping - 1992
  • Coyote Blue - 1994
  • Bloodsucking Fiends - 1995
  • Island of Sequined Love Nun - 1997
  • The Lust Lizard of Melancholy Cove - 1999
  • Lamb - 2002
  • Fluke: Or, I Know Why the Winged Whale Sings - 2003
  • The Stupidest Angel - 2005
  • A Dirty Job - 2006
  • You Suck - 2007
  • Fool - 2009
  • Bite Me: A Love Story - 2010
  • Sacre Bleu - 2012
  • Serpent of Venice - 2014
  • Secondhand Souls - 2015
  • Noir - 2018
  • Shakespeare for Squirrels - 2020
  • Razzmatazz - 2022

Go to top of page