You are here: Home > Our Authors > Thubron, Colin

VJ Books Presents Author Colin Thubron!

Author Colin ThubronColin Thubron (born 14 June 1939) is a British travel writer and an award-winning novelist. He was educated at Eton College, worked briefly for the publisher Hutchinson and as a freelance television film-maker in Turkey, Japan and Morocco. His first book, Mirror to Damascus, was published in 1967.

Thubron has been a Fellow of the Royal Society of Literature since 1969. He is a regular contributor and reviewer for magazines and newspapers including The Times, the Times Literary Supplement and The Spectator.

He lives in London.

Colin Thubron Book List and Awards
His website: Colin Thubron at HarperCollins
Sort By:
Page of 1
Night of Fire | Thubron, Colin | Signed First Edition Book Thubron, Colin | Night of Fire | Signed First Edition Copy

Author Signed Hardcover Book. January 2017 NY: HarperCollins First edition, first printing, fine in a fine dust jacket, signed by the author.  This is a collectible book free from material defects.  Jacket covering services are available for a small fee..

Usually Ships in 3 to 5 Business Days
VJ Books Price $39.99
Winter Blast $8.00
You save $31.99!
Night of Fire | Thubron, Colin | Book - Advance Reading Copy Thubron, Colin | Night of Fire | Book - Advance Reading Copy

Advance Reading Copy 2017 NY: HarperCollins reading copy, mint, new/unread in flawless pictorial wraps.

Usually Ships in 3 to 5 Business Days
VJ Books Price $15.99
Winter Blast $3.20 --> Why collect ADVANCE READING COPIES?
You save $12.79!

Colin Thubron Select Bibliography


  • The God in the Mountain - 1977
  • Emperor - 1978
  • A Cruel Madness - 1984
  • Falling - 1989
  • Turning Back the Sun - 1991
  • Distance - 1996
  • To the Last City - 2002
  • Night of Fire - January 2017

Colin Thubron Awards

  • 1967 Book Society Choice, Mirror to Damascus
  • 1985 PEN/Macmillan Silver Pen Award, A Cruel Madness
  • 1988 Hawthornden Prize, Behind the Wall: A journey through China
  • 1988 Thomas Cook Travel Book Award, Behind the Wall: A Journey through China
  • 1991 Fellow of the Royal Asiatic Society
  • 2000 Mungo Park Medal of the Royal Scottish Geographical Society
  • 2001 Lawrence of Arabia Memorial Medal of the Royal Society for Asian Affairs
  • 2002 Hon.D Lit University of Warwick
  • 2003-9 Vice-President, The Royal Society of Literature
  • 2007 Commander of the Order of the British Empire (CBE), New Year's Honours
  • 2008 Society of Authors Travel Award
  • 2009 President, The Royal Society of Literature
  • 2010 Prix Bouvier, France, In Siberia
  • 2011 Ness Award of the Royal Geographical Society
  • 2014 International Prize, Spanish Geographical Society

Go to top of page