You are here: Home > Our Authors > Brin, David

VJ Books Presents Author David Brin!

Author David BrinDavid Brin was born on October 6, 1950 in Glendale, California. He graduated from the California Institute of Technology with a Bachelor of Science in astrophysics in 1973. He also earned a Master of Science in applied physics in 1978 and a Doctor of Philosophy degree in space science in 1981 at the University of California.

Brin is a scientist, bestselling author, and tech-futurist. He is also a leading commentator and speaker on modern trends. His scientific work covers an eclectic range of topics, from astronautics, astronomy, and optics to alternative dispute resolution and the role of neoteny in human evolution.

His novels include Earth, The Postman (filmed in 1997) and Hugo Award winners Startide Rising and The Uplift War. his non-fiction book The Transparent Society won the Freedom of Speech Award of the American Library Association.

Brin lives in California with his wife and children.

David Brin Book List and Awards
His website:
Similar authors: Stephen Baxter, Greg Bear, Gregory Benford, Ben Bova
Follow him on Facebook
Follow him on Twitter

Chasing Shadows
Signed First Edition

Chasing Shadows by David Brin

Signed First Edition

Existence by David Brin

Heaven's Reach
Signed First Edition

Heaven's Reach by David Brin

Infinity's Shore
Signed First Edition

Infinity's Shore by David Brin

Signed First Edition

Otherness by David Brin

Heart of the Comet
Signed First Edition

Heart of the Comet by David Brin
Sort By:
Page of 1
Chasing Shadows | Brin, David | Signed First Edition Book Brin, David | Chasing Shadows | Signed First Edition Copy

Author Signed Hardcover Book. January 2017 NY: Tom Doherty Associates First edition, first printing, fine in a fine dust jacket, signed by the author, remainder marked.

Usually Ships in 3 to 5 Business Days
VJ Books Price $21.99
Winter Blast $4.40 --> May have Remainder Marks or imperfections
You save $17.59!

David Brin Bibliography

Plausible Near-Futures

  • The Postman - 1985
  • Earth - 1990
  • Existence - 2012

Uplift Novels

  1. Sundiver - 1980
  2. Startide Rising - 1983
  3. The Uplift War - 1987
  4. Brightness Reef - 1995
  5. Infinity's Shore - 1996
  6. Heaven's Reach - 1998

Novels of Future Wonders

  • The Practice Effect - 1984
  • Glory Season - 1993
  • Kiln People - 2002

Short Story Collections

  • River of Time - 1987
  • Otherness - 1994
  • Insistence of Vision - 2016
  • Chasing Shadows - January 2017


  • Heart of the Comet - 1986
  • Foundation's Triump - 1999


  • The Transparent Society: Will Technology Force Us to Choose Between Privacy and Freedom? - 1998
  • Star Wars on Trial: Science Fiction and Fantasy Writers Debate the Most Popular Science Fiction Films of All Time - 2006
  • Through Stranger Eyes - 2008

Graphic Novels

  • Star Trek: Forgiveness - 2001
  • Contacting Aliens: An Illustrated Guide to David Brin's Uplift Universe - 2002
  • Tinkerers - 2007
  • The Life Eaters - 2015

David Brin Awards

  • Literary Awards & Prizes (including Hugo Award, Nebula Award, Locus Award, John W. Campbell Memorial Award)
  • The Zoia Horn Intellectual Freedom Award of the California Library Association
  • UCSD Distinguished Alumnus
  • Freedom of Speech Award of the American Library Association
  • McGannon Communication Policy Research Award
  • World Science Fiction Convention Guest of Honor (2007)
  • Doctorate in astrophysics and space science (1981)

Go to top of page