You are here: Home > Our Authors > Deighton, Len

VJ Books Presents Author Len Deighton!

Len DeightonLen Deighton was born February 18, 1929 in Marylebone, London. He is a British military historian, cookery writer, and novelist. He is perhaps most famous for his spy novel The Ipcress File, which was made into a film starring Michael Caine.
Before he began his writing career he worked as an illustrator in New York and, in 1960, as an art director in a London advertising agency. He is credited with creating the first British cover for Kerouac's On the Road. He has since used his drawing skills to illustrate a number of his own military history books.
Several of his novels have been adapted as films. His first four novels featured an anonymous anti-hero, named "Harry Palmer" in the films, and portrayed by Michael Caine.
Deighton left England in 1969. He briefly resided in Blackrock, County Louth in Ireland. He has not returned to England apart from some personal visits and very few media appearances, his last one since 1985 being a 2006 interview which formed part of a "Len Deighton Night" on BBC Four. He and his wife Ysabele divide their time between homes in Portugal and Guernsey.

Spy Hook
First Edition

Spy Hook by Len Deighton

Spy Line
First Edition

Spy Line by Len Deighton

1st Australian Edition

Mamista by Len Deighton

First UK Edition

Faith by Len Deighton

Click here to see a chronological list of all of Len Deighton's books

Sort By:
Page of 1
Mamista | Deighton, Len | First Edition AU Book Deighton, Len | Mamista | Unsigned First Edition AU Book

Hardcover Book. 1991 Australia: Century  First Australian edition, first printing, mint, new/unread in a flawless dust jacket. 

Usually Ships in 3 to 5 Business Days
VJ Books Price $39.99
You save $31.99!
1962 - The IPCRESS File
1963 - Horse Under Water
1964 - Funeral in Berlin
1965 - Oł Est le Garlic
1965 - Len Deighton's Action Cookbook
1966 - Billion-Dollar Brain
1967 - An Expensive Place to Die
1967 - Len Deighton's London Dossier
1968 - Only When I Larf
1970 - Bomber
1971 - Declarations of War
1972 - Spy Story
1972 - Close-Up
1975 - Yesterday's Spy
1976 - Twinkle, Twinkle, Little Spy (aka Catch a Falling Spy)
1977 - Fighter: The True Story of the Battle of Britain
1978 - SS-GB
1978 - Airshipwreck (with Arnold Schwartzman)
1979 - Blitzkrieg: From the Rise of Hitler to the Fall of Dunkirk
1979 - Basic French Cooking
1980 - Battle of Britain
1981 - XPD
1982 - Goodbye, Mickey Mouse
1983 - Berlin Game
1984 - Mexico Set
1985 - London Match
1987 - Winter
1988 - Spy Hook
1989 - Spy Line
1989 - ABC of French Food
1990 - Spy Sinker
1990 - Basic French Cookery Course
1991 - MAMista
1992 - City of Gold
1993 - Violent Ward
1993 - Blood, Tears and Folly: An Objective Look at World War II
1994 - Faith
1995 - Hope
1996 - Charity
2006 - Sherlock Holmes and the Titanic Swindle (short story included in 'The Detection Club' anthology 'The Verdict of Us All', edited by Peter Lovesey)

Go to top of page