You are here: Home > Our Authors > Penny, Louise

VJ Books Presents Author Louise Penny!

Author Louise PennyLouise Penny was born in 1958 in Toronto, Ontario. As a child, she picked up her mother's love of crime fiction. She earned a Bachelor of Applied Arts in Radio and Television from Ryerson University and after graduating embarked on a career in radio that would last nearly two decades.

In her thirties, Penny met her future husband, Dr. Michael Whitehead. After their marriage, she left her radio job and set her mind to writing--she wanted to write the kind of books that she liked to read, and that her childhood self liked to read.. Five years later, with numerous rejections and on the brink of giving up, she entered her first novel into a British writing contest and won 2nd place. Thereafter, she secured a British agent and launched her new career as a novelist.

Penny's debut novel, Still Life (2005) won the New Blood Dagger award, the Arthur Ellis Award, the Dilys Award, the Anthony Award, and the Barry Award, and began her series following Chief Inspector Armand Gamache. Her second novel, A Fatal Grace (2007) won an Agatha Award for Best Novel. Since then, she has published about a novel a year, and also served as executive producer for a TV movie adaptation of Still Life.

Penny and her husband enjoyed 22 years together before his death in 2016. She lives in Montreal, Canada.

Louise Penny Book List
Author's website:
Similar authors: S.J. Bolton, Laura Lippman, Charles Todd, Jacqueline Winspear
Follow them on Facebook

State of Terror
Signed First Edition

State of Terror by Louise Penny and Hillary Rodham Clinton

The Crown of Madness
Signed First Edition

The Crown of Madness by Louise Penny

All the Devils are Here
Signed First Edition

All the Devils are Here by Louise Penny

Kingdom of the Blind
Signed First Edition

Kingdom of the Blind by Louise Penny

Glass Houses
Signed First Edition

Glass Houses by Louise Penny

A Great Reckoning
Signed First Edition

A Great Reckoning by Louise Penny
Sort By:
Page of 1
A Better Man | Penny, Louise | Signed First Edition Book Penny, Louise | Better Man, A | Signed First Edition Copy

Author Signed Hardcover Book.  August 2019 NY: St. Martin's Press  First edition, first printing, fine in a fine dust jacket, signed by the author.  This is a collectible book free from material defects.  Jacket covering services are available for a small fee..

Usually Ships in 3 to 5 Business Days
VJ Books Price $59.99
John's Pick $7.59
You save $52.40!

Louise Penny Bibliography

Chief Inspector Armand Gamache Series

  1. Still Life - 2005
  2. Dead Cold - 2006 (aka A Fatal Grace)
  3. The Cruelest Month - 2007
  4. The Murder Stone - 2008 (aka A Rule Against Murder)
  5. The Brutal Telling - 2009
  6. Bury Your Dead - 2010
  7. A Trick of the Light - 2011
  8. The Beautiful Mystery - 2012
  9. How the Light Gets In - 2013
  10. The Long Way Home - 2014
  11. The Nature of the Beast - 2015
  12. A Great Reckoning - 2016
  13. Glass Houses - 2017
  14. Kingdom of the Blind - November 2018
  15. All the Devils are Here - 2020
  16. The Crown of Madness - 2021

  • State of Terror - 2021

Louise Penny Awards

  • CWA New Blood Dagger Award for Still Life - 2006
  • Anthony Award for Best First Novel for Still Life - 2007
  • Dilys Award for Still Life - 2007
  • Barry Award for Best First Novel for Still Life - 2007
  • Agatha Award for Best Novel for The Cruelest Month - 2008
  • Anthony Award for Best Novel for The Brutal Telling - 2010

Go to top of page