You are here: Home > Our Authors > Herron, Mick

VJ Books Presents Author Mick Herron!

Mick Herron Mick Herron is a novelist and short story writer whose books include the Sarah Tucker/Zoë Boehm series and the standalone novel RECONSTRUCTION. His work has been shortlisted for the Macavity, Barry and Shamus awards, and his novella DOLPHIN JUNCTION was joint winner of the 2009 Ellery Queen Readers Award. His second standalone, NOBODY WALKS, was shortlisted for the Ian Fleming Steel Dagger in 2015, and was one of Booklist Magazine’s Best 101 Crime Novels of the Decade.

He is the author of the acclaimed Jackson Lamb series, the first of which, the Steel Dagger-nominated SLOW HORSES, was hailed by the Daily Telegraph as one of “the twenty greatest spy novels of all time”. The second in the series, DEAD LIONS, won the 2013 CWA Goldsboro Gold Dagger, and was picked by the Sunday Times as one of the best 25 crime novels of the past five years. The third, REAL TIGERS, was shortlisted for both the Gold and Steel Daggers, for the Theakstons Crime Novel of the Year, and for the 2017 Macavity Award. It won the Last Laugh Award at Crimefest 2017, for the best humorous crime novel of 2016.

SPOOK STREET – described by the Irish Times as “a modern masterpiece” – won the Ian Fleming Steel Dagger 2017, and was included in best of the year lists by the Guardian, the Telegraph, the Irish Times, the Mail on Sunday, the Financial Times and the Seattle Times. It won the Last Laugh Award at Crimefest 2018, for the best humorous crime novel of 2018, and has been shortlisted for the Theakstons Crime Novel of the Year.

The fifth Jackson Lamb novel, LONDON RULES, has been longlisted for both the Gold and Steel Daggers.

Mick lives in Oxford and writes full time.

Mick Herron Book List and Awards
His website:
Similar authors: Ken Follett, David Hewson, Brad Taylor, Kyle Mills

Bad Actors
Signed First Edition

Bad Actors by Mick Herron

Dolphin Junction
Signed First Edition

Dolphin Junction by Mick Herron

Slough House
Signed First Edition

Slough House by Mick Herron

Joe Country
Signed First Edition

Joe Country by Mick Herron

Mike Herron Bibliography

Slough House Series

  1. Slow Horses - 2010
  2. Dead Lions - 2013
  3. Real Tigers - 2016
  4. Spook Street - February 2017
  5. London Rules - June 2018
  6. Joe Country - June 2019
  7. Slough House - 2021
  8. Bad Actors - 2022

Zoë Boehm Series (Oxford Series)

  1. Down Cemetery Road - 2003
  2. The Last Voice You Hear - 2004
  3. Why We Die - 2006
  4. Smoke and Whispers - 2009
  5. Reconstruction - 2015 (Paperback)

Other Novels

  • Nobody Walks - 2015 (offshoot of Slough House series)


  • All the Livelong Day - 2013
  • Dolphin Junction - 2021


  • The List - 2015 (Slough House #2.5)
  • The Drop - 2018 (Slough House #5.5)

Mick Herron Awards

  • 2009 Ellery Queen Readers Award
  • 2013 CWA Goldsboro Gold Dagger

Go to top of page