You are here: Home > Our Authors > Stine, R.L.

VJ Books Presents Author R.L Stine!

Author R.L. StineR.L. Stine was born in Columbus, Ohio in 1943. His books are read all over the world. So far, he has sold over 350 million books, making him one of the best-selling children's authors in history. You can find R.L. Stine signed books for sale below this author biography.

After graduating from Ohio State University in 1965, Stine headed to New York City to become a writer. He wrote dozens of joke books and humor books for kids. And he created Bananas, a zany humor magazine which he did for ten years. In those days, he wrote under the name Jovial Bob Stine.

He married Jane Waldhorn in 1969. Jane became an editor and writer, and they worked together on several children's books. Later, Jane and her partner formed their own publishing company, Parachute Press, and helped create all of R.L.'s most popular book series.

In 1986, R.L. turned scary!

He wrote his first teen horror novel, Blind Date, which became an instant best-seller. Many scary novels followed, including Beach House, Hit And Run, The Babysitter, and The Girlfriend. In 1989 he created the Fear Street series, the best-selling young adult book series in history. He has written about 100 Fear Street books about teens facing all kinds of terror.

Goosebumps began in 1992. The book series quickly became a hit around the world. Translated into 32 different languages, it made R.L. a worldwide publishing celebrity. The Goosebumps TV show was the number-one kids' show in the U.S. for three years in a row. The episodes are still shown at Halloween time. Many of the shows are on DVD.

R.L. Stine Book List
His website:
Similar authors: Neil Gaiman, Dean Koontz, Rick Riordan
Follow him on Facebook
Follow him on Twitter

R.L. Stine Partial* Bibliography

*To see R.L. Stine's complete bibliography, please visit his website at


  • Spaceballs: The Book - 1987
  • Curtains - 1990
  • How I Broke Up With Ernie - 1990
  • Phone Calls - 1990
  • Broken Date - 1991
  • I Saw You That Night! - 1995
  • Superstitious - 1995
  • When Good Ghouls Go Bad - 2001
  • The Sitter - 2003
  • Who Let the Ghosts Out? - Mostly Ghostly - 2004
  • Eye Candy - 2004
  • It's the First Day of School ... Forever! - 2011
  • The Haunting Hour - 2011
  • Nightmare Hour - 2011
  • Red Rain - 2012
  • A Midsummer Night's Scream - 2013
  • The Lost Girl - 2015
  • Can You Keep a Secret? - 2016
  • Give Me a K-I-L-L - April 2017
  • Stinetinglers: All New Stories by the Master of Scary Tales - 2022

Dangerous Girls Series

  1. Dangerous Girls - 1998
  2. The Taste of Night - 2004
  3. Bitten: Dangerous Girls & The Taste of Night - 2010

Go to top of page