You are here: Home > Our Authors > Rash, Ron

VJ Books Presents Author Ron Rash!

Author Ron RashRon Rash is the author of the 2009 PEN/Faulkner finalist and New York Times bestselling novel, Serena. He was born on September 25, 1953 in Chester, South Carolina and grew up in Boiling Springs, North Carolina. He is a graduate of Gardner-Webb University and Clemson University from which he holds a B.A. and M.A. in English, respectively.

In 1994 he published his first book, a collection of short stories titled The Night the New Jesus Fell to Earth. Rash is also the author of four other prizewinning novels, including One Foot in Eden, Saints at the River, The World Made Straight, and The Cove; four collections of poems; and six collections of stories, among them Burning Bright, which won the 2010 Frank O'Connor International Short Story Award; Chemistry and Other Stories, which was a finalist for the 2007 PEN/Faulkner Award; and most recently, Something Rich and Strange.

Twice the recipient of the O. Henry Prize, he teaches graduate level classes at Western Carolina University.

Ron Rash Book List and Awards
Similar authors : Richard Bausch, Jill McCorkle, Joyce Carol Oates
Follow him on Facebook

The Risen by Ron Rash
Signed First Edition

The Risen by Ron Rash by Ron Rash
Sort By:
Page of 1
Risen, The | Rash, Ron | Book - Advance Reading Copy Rash, Ron | Risen, The | Book - Advance Reading Copy

Advance Reading Copy September 2016 NY: Ecco Advance reading copy, mint, new/unread in flawless pictorial wraps.

Usually Ships in 3 to 5 Days
VJ Books Price $15.99 --> Why collect ADVANCE READING COPIES?
Risen, The | Rash, Ron | Signed First Edition Book Rash, Ron | Risen, The | Signed First Edition Copy

Author Signed Hardcover Book. September 2016 NY: HarperCollins First edition, first printing, mint, new/unread in a flawless dust jacket, signed by the author.

Usually Ships in 3 to 5 Days
VJ Books Price $39.99

Ron Rash Bibliography


  • One Foot in Eden - 2002
  • Saints at the River - 2004
  • The World Made Straight - 2006
  • Serena - 2008
  • The Cove - 2012
  • Above the Waterfall - 2015
  • The Risen - September 2016


  • Eureka Mill - 1998
  • Among the Believers - 2000
  • Raising the Dead - 2002
  • Waking - 2011

Short Story Collections

  • The Night The New Jesus Fell to Earth and Other Stories from Cliffside, North Carolina - 1994
  • Casualties - 2000
  • Chemistry and Other Stories - 2007
  • Burning Bright - 2010
  • Nothing Gold Can Stay - 2013
  • Something Rich and Strange - 2014

Children's Book

  • The Shark's Tooth - 2001

Ron Rash Awards

  • 1987: General Electric Younger Writers Award
  • 1996: The Sherwood Anderson Prize
  • 2002: Novello Literary Award - One Foot in Eden
  • 2002: ForeWord Magazine's Gold Medal in Literary Fiction - One Foot in Eden
  • 2002: Appalachian Book of the Year - One Foot in Eden
  • 2004: Fiction Book of the Year by the Southern Book Critics Circle - Saints at the River
  • 2004: Fiction Book of the Year by the Southeastern Booksellers Association - Saints at the River
  • 2004: Weatherford Award for Best Novel of 2004 - Saints at the River
  • 2005: James Still Award from the Fellowship of Southern Writers
  • 2008: Finalist for the PEN/Faulkner Award for Fiction - Chemistry and Other Stories
  • 2009: Finalist for the PEN/Faulkner Award for Fiction - Serena [23]
  • 2010: Heasley Prize at Lyon College
  • 2010: Frank O'Connor International Short Story Award - Burning Bright
  • 2010: Inducted into the South Carolina Academy of Authors
  • 2011: SIBA Book Award - Fiction for Burning Bright
  • 2012: David J. Langum, Sr. Prize in American Historical Fiction for The Cove

Go to top of page