Home > Science Fiction, Horror, Fantasy >

Ulfelder, Steve | Whole Lie, The | Signed First Edition Copy
Whole Lie, The | Ulfelder, Steve | Signed First Edition Book


 
THE WHOLE LIE by Steve Ulfelder
AUTHOR AUTOGRAPHED HARDCOVER BOOK


First edition, first printing, mint, new/unread in a flawless dust jacket in archival acetate cover, signed by the author. May 2012 NY: St. Martin's Press ISBN 9780312604547
VJ Books Price $49.99

Purchase this book and earn 1000 points --> Learn more about MyRewards
Whole Lie, The
01


Availability: Usually Ships in 24 to 72 Hours

Book Description
 

WHOLE LIE, THE by Steve Ulfelder - SIGNED FIRST EDITION BOOK

See all titles by Steve Ulfelder.

Savvy hadn’t changed. She was smarter than you and didn’t mind letting you know it. She’d whip you up and down trying to get her way. But we weren’t lovers any more - and she’d stopped being a Barnburner long ago. Still…

Conway Sax, the no-nonsense auto mechanic with a knack for solving difficult problems for the Barnburners, the renegade AA group who saved his life, is back. And for once, he thinks normalcy is within reach. He’s opening a new garage, and he’s finally moved in with longtime girlfriend Charlene. The end of his parole is finally in sight. Then along comes Savannah Kane: smart, smoky, and a pusher of men’s buttons. Seven years ago, Conway helped her disappear - but not before they had a sizzling, knock-down-drag-out affair. Now she’s back with a shocking revelation: she’s the mother of a six-year-old boy. Savvy claims her son’s father is billionaire Bert Saginaw, but Conway (not to mention Charlene) knows she’s back for more than just a family reunion.

Saginaw wants to be Lieutenant Governor of Massachusetts. Savvy wants to get paid. Conway wants nothing to do with either of them. But when Savvy turns up brutally murdered, he’s got no choice but to sort lies from truth – even though doing so may cost him his freedom, his lover, and his life in this thrilling and heart-wrenching follow-up to critically acclaimed novel Purgatory Chasm, in the tradition of Robert B. Parker and Dennis Lehane.

Praise for Steve Ulfelder and Purgatory Chasm

“Ulfelder smoothly steers his plot from one hairpin twist to the next… Conway [is] both tough and vulnerable, a man who has made too many mistakes in his life and, unfortunately, will make even more. Purgatory Chasm is a superb beginning for an author who shows much promise.” –South Florida Sun-Sentinel

“A refreshing new character solving hardcore crimes…. crisp plotting, hard-boiled style and realistic dialogue.” —Associated Press

“Combines elements of the thriller with tales of tangled families. Violence runs through the novel, but Ulfelder tempers it with compassion — and evocative prose. Purgatory Chasm may be hardboiled, but it's heart-wrenching, too.” –Richmond Times-Dispatch

“Working throughout is the edgy, self-effacing voice of a flawed main character, a good guy with plenty of baggage who’s just trying stay alive and to get it right this time.” –The Boston Globe

“Ulfelder couples precise, evocative prose with an original private investigator in his compelling hard-boiled debut…. Ulfelder smoothly navigates the many plot twists, and effortlessly introduces wrinkles in his protagonist's backstory that enhance the character.” –Publishers Weekly, starred review

Assurance of Quality
VJ Books provides the finest in signed first editions and collectible books. In so doing, we consistently inspect and grade each book using professional standards. Every dust jacket is placed in acid-free archival quality acetate. Prior to leaving our warehouse, each item is prepared to ensure safe delivery.

Share your knowledge of this book with other customers... Be the first to write a review

Browse for more books in the same category as this item:

Science Fiction, Horror, Fantasy
Collectibles > Signed Books > Authors S - Z
Mysteries > S - Z
Science Fiction, Horror, Fantasy > O - Z
Collectibles > Signed Books
Mysteries
Collectibles
New Coupon Category