You are here: Home > Our Authors > Cook, Thomas H.

VJ Books Presents Author Thomas H. Cook!

Thomas H. Cook is the author of eighteen books, including two works of true crime. His novels have been nominated for the Edgar Allan Poe Award, the Macavity Award and the Dashiell Hammett Prize. The Chatham School Affair won the Edgar Allan Poe Award for Best Novel in 1996. His true crime book, Blood Echoes, was nominated for the Edgar Allan Poe Award in 1992, and his story "Fatherhood" won the Herodotus Prize in 1998 and was included in Best Mystery Stories of 1998, edited by Otto Penzler and Ed McBain. His works have been translated into fifteen languages.

Thomas H. Cook was born in Fort Payne, Alabama on September 19, 1947, and holds a bachelors degree from Georgia State College, and a masters degree in American history from Hunter College in 1972, and in 1976 earned a MPhil degree from Columbia University.

From 1978 to 1981, Cook taught English and History at Dekalb (GA) Community College, and served as a book review editor for Atlanta magazine from 1978 to 1982, when he took up writing full time.Cook began his first novel, Blood Innocents, while he was still in graduate school. It was published in 1980, and he has published steadily since then. A movie version of one of his books, Evidence of Blood, was released in 1997. Cook lives with his family in Cape Cod and New York City.

Six of his novels have been nominated for awards, including Red Leaves in 2006, which was also shortlisted for the CWA Duncan Lawrie Dagger and the Anthony Award, and went on to win the Barry Award and The Martin Beck Award.

Follow him on Facebook
Follow him on Twitter

Sandrine's Case

Signed First Edition

Sandrine's Case by Thomas H. Cook

The Crime of Julian Wells
Signed First Edition

The Crime of Julian Wells by Thomas H. Cook

The Last Talk with Lola Faye
Signed First Edition

The Last Talk with Lola Faye by Thomas H. Cook

The Fate of Katherine Carr
Signed First Edition

The Fate of Katherine Carr by Thomas H. Cook

Master of the Delta

Signed First Edition

Master of the Delta by Thomas H. Cook

Moon Over Manhattan
Signed First Edition

Moon Over Manhattan by Thomas H. Cook and Larry King

Thomas H. Cook Bibliography

  • Blood Innocents - 1980
  • The Orchids - 1982
  • Tabernacle - 1983
  • Elena - 1986
  • Sacrificial Ground - 1988
  • Flesh and Blood - 1989
  • Streets of Fire - 1989
  • Early Graves - 1990
  • Night Secrets - 1990
  • The City When It Rains - 1991
  • Evidence of Blood - 1991
  • Blood Echoes - 1992
  • Mortal Memory - 1993
  • Breakheart Hill - 1995
  • The Chatham School Affair - 1996
  • Instruments of Night - 1998
  • Places in the Dark - 2000
  • Interrogation - 2002
  • Taken: A Novelization - 2002
  • Moon Over Manhattan - 2003 (with Larry King)
  • Peril - 2004
  • Into the Web - 2004
  • Red Leaves - 2005
  • The Murmur of Stones - 2006 (published in the US as The Cloud of Unknowing - 2007)
  • Master of the Delta - 2008
  • The Best American Crime Reporting - 2008 (with Jonathan Kellerman and Otto Penzler)
  • The Fate of Katherine Carr - 2009
  • The Last Talk with Lola Faye - 2010
  • The Quest for Anna Klein - 2011
  • The Crime of Julian Wells - 2012
  • Sandrine's Case - 2013
  • A Dancer in the Dust - 2015

Go to top of page