You are here: Home > Our Authors > Martel, Yann

VJ Books Features Yann Martel!

Author Yann MartelYann Martel was born June 25, 1963 in Salamanca, Spain. He grew up in Costa Rica, France, Mexico, Alaska, and Canada and as an adult has spent time in Iran, Turkey, and India. After studying philosophy in college, he worked at various odd jobs until he began earning his living as a writer at the age of twenty-seven.

In 1993, Knopf Canada published a collection of four of Martel's short stories. His first novel, Self, was published in 1996. His second novel, Life of Pi, was published on September 11, 2001 and was awarded the Man Booker Prize in 2002, among other prizes, and became a bestseller in many countries. His fourth novel, The High Mountains of Portugal, was published on February 2, 2016

Martel was invited to be a Fellow of the Royal Society of Literature in 2014.

He lives in Saskatoon, Canada with his family.

Yann Martel Book List and Awards
His website:
Similar authors: Isabel Allende, Michael Chabon
Follow him on Facebook
Follow him on Twitter
Sort By:
Page of 1
Beatrice and Virgil | Martel, Yann | Signed First Edition Book Martel, Yann | Beatrice and Virgil | Signed First Edition Copy

Author Signed Hardcover Book. April 2010 NY: Random House  First edition, first printing, fine in a fine dust jacket, signed by the author.  This is a collectible book free from material defects.  Jacket covering services are available for a small fee..

Usually Ships in 3 to 5 Business Days
VJ Books Price $39.99
Total Liquidation $6.00
You save $33.99!

Yann Martel Bibliography

  • Seven Stories - 1993
  • The Facts Behind the Helsinki Roccamatios - 1993
  • Self - 1996
  • Life of Pi - 2001
  • Beatrice and Virgil - 2010
  • 101 Letters to a Prime Minister: The Complete Letters to Stephen Harper - 2012
  • The High Mountains of Portugal - 2016

Short Stories
  • We Ate the Children Last - 2004

Yann Martel Awards

  • Beatrice and Virgil - 2010 Financial Times Fiction of the Year Award
  • Life of Pi - 2001 Man Booker Prize for Fiction; 2002 Asian/Pacific American Award for Literature; 2001 Hugh MacLennan Prize for Fiction; 2003 Boeke Prize; 2003 La Presse Prix du Grand Public; 2004 Deutscher Bücherpreis

Go to top of page