You are here: Home > Our Authors > Tata, A.J.

VJ Books Presents Author A.J. Tata!

A.J. Tata A.J. Tata (also known as Tony Tata) is an American writer and retired Brigadier General. He graduated with a Bachelor's of science in 1981 from the United States Military Academy. He later earned a Masters in International Relations from the Catholic University of America and a Masters of Strategic Planning from the U.S. Army's School of Advanced Military Studies. Tata has also served as a National Security Fellow at Harvard University's JFK School of Government.

Tata served in the U.S. Army for 28 years and was deployed on combat missions and operations in Afghanistan, Kosovo, Macedonia, Bosnia, Panama and the Philippines. He is a graduate of the U.S. Army's Ranger School and a Master Parachutist and his various accomplishments during his military career include being awarded the Combat Action Badge and Bronze Star.

Following his retirement from the military, Tata began his career as a novelist. He is best known as the author of the Threat series, the whole of the proceeds of which have been donated to the USO Metro DC Hospital Services fund for Wounded Warriors. He is also the author of the Jake Mahegan Series.

Currently, Tata is the President of KaylaTek, LLC, a defense, transportation and energy services company. He is also the National Security Expert for One America News Network, and he has appeared as a guest commentator on FoxNews' The O'Reilly Factor, America's Newsroom, Fox and Friends Weekday and Weekend Editions, The Daily Buzz, NBC's Today Show with Jane Pauley, The South Florida Today Show, The CBS Early Show, among others.

In his spare time, Tata is an avid surfer and enjoys spending time with his wife, Jodi, and his two children, Brooke and Zachary.

A.J. Tata Book List
His website:
Similar authors: David Baldacci, Larry Bond, Ben Coes, Mark Greaney
Follow him on Facebook
Follow him on Twitter

Chasing the Lion

Signed First Edition

Chasing the Lion by Nicholas Irving & A.J. Tata

Double Crossfire

Signed First Edition

Double Crossfire by A.J. Tata

Dark Winter

Signed First Edition

Dark Winter by A.J. Tata

Direct Fire

Signed First Edition

Direct Fire by A.J. Tata


Signed First Edition

Besieged by A.J. Tata

Rogue Threat

Signed First Edition

Rogue Threat by A.J. Tata

A.J. Tata Bibliography

Threat Series

  1. Sudden Threat - 2008
  2. Rogue Threat - 2009
  3. Hidden Threat - 2010
  4. Mortal Threat - 2015 (Paperback)

Jake Mahegan Series

  1. Foreign and Domestic - 2015 (Paperback)
  2. Three Minutes to Midnight - 2016
  3. Besieged - 2017
  4. Direct Fire - December 2017
  5. Dark Winter - October 2018
  6. Double Crossfire - October 2019

Other Novels

  • Reaper: Drone Strike - 2020 (with Nicholas Irving)

Go to top of page