You are here: Home > Our Authors > Sterling, Bruce

VJ Books Presents Author Bruce Sterling!

Author Erik Storey Bruce Sterling (born April 14, 1954) is a science fiction writer and Net critic, internationally recognized as a cyberspace theorist anthology, which helped define the cyberpunk genre.
Sterling published his first book, Involution Ocean, in 1977. In the 80s Sterling published Cheap Truth a series of fanzines, which are magazines for fans of a particular performer, group, or form of entertainment. Sterling's writings have been very influential in the cyberpunk movement in literature, specifically the novels Heavy Weather (1994), Islands in the Net (1988), Schismatrix (1985), The Artificial Kid (1980).

In 2003 Bruce Sterling became Professor of Internet studies and science fiction at the at the European Graduate School . Sterling has travelled the world giving many speeches and collecting awards too. He won the Campbell Award in 1989 for his novel Islands in the Net, the Hugo Award both in 1997 and 1999 for his novelettes Bicycle Repairman and Taklamakan respectively, the Hayakawa Award in 1999 also for Taklamakan, as well as the Clarke Award in 2000 for his novel Distraction. Along with William Gibson, another one of the major figures of cyberpunk, Bruce Sterling co-authored the novel The Difference Engine (1990), a novel which is part of the steampunk sub-genre. Sterling published Black Swan in 2010.

As well as being a leading science fiction writer, Bruce Sterling has been involved with numerous projects and written several books of futurist theory. He was the founder of the Dead Media Project, an on-line reliquary, or archive, to forgotten, or dead, media technologies. Bruce Sterling also founded the Viridian Design Movement, an environmental aesthetic movement founded on the ideas of global citizenship, environmental design and techno-progressiveness.

Bruce Sterling has blogged extensively in the blog, Beyond the Beyond published by Wired Magazine.

Signed 1st Edition

Zeitgeist by Bruce Sterling

Signed 1st Edition

Globalhead by Bruce Sterling

Holy Fire
Signed 1st UK Ed.

Holy Fire by Bruce Sterling

The Caryatids
Signed 1st Edition

The Caryatids by Bruce Sterling

Signed 1st Edition

Distraction by Bruce Sterling

Heavy Weather
Signed 1st Edition

Heavy Weather by Bruce Sterling

To see Bruce Sterling's bibliography, click here or scroll to the bottom of the page.

Bruce Sterling Bibliography
1977 - Involution Ocean
1980 - The Artifical Kid
1985 - Schismatrix
1988 - Islands in the Net (Campbell Award in 1989)
1990 - The Difference Engine (co-authored with William Gibson)
1994 - Heavy Weather
1996 - Holy Fire
1998 - Distraction (Clarke Award)
2000 - Zeitgeist
2004 - The Zenith Angle
2007 - Kiosk
2009 - The Caryatids
2010 - Black Swan
Bicycle Repairman (Hugo Award)
Taklamakan (Hugo Award and Hayakawa Award)
Essays and Non-Fiction
1993 - The Hacker Crackdown: Law and Order on the Electronic Frontier
2002 - Tomorrow Now: Envisioning the Next Fifty Years
2005 - Shaping Things
1986 - Mirrorshades: The Cyberpunk Anthology
1989 - Crystal Express
1992 - Globalhead
1999 - A Good Old-Fashioned Future
2006 - Visionary in Residence: Stories


  • 2000 Clarke Award winner for the novel Distraction
  • 1999 Hayakawa Award winner Taklamakan Best Foreign Short Story
  • 1999 Hugo Award winner for the novelette Taklamakan
  • 1997 Hugo Award winner for the novelette Bicycle Repairman
  • 1989 Campbell Award winner for the novel Islands in the Net

Go to top of page