You are here: Home > Our Authors > Harris, Charlaine

VJ Books Presents Author Charlaine Harris!

Author Charlaine HarrisCharlaine Harris is a New York Times bestselling author who has been writing for over thirty years. She was born and raised in the Mississippi River Delta area. Though her early works consisted largely of poems about ghosts and teenage angst, she began writing plays when she attended Rhodes College in Memphis, Tennessee. She switched to novels a few years later, and achieved publication in 1981 with Sweet and Deadly.

After publishing two stand-alone mysteries, Harris launched the lighthearted Aurora Teagarden books with Real Murders, a Best Novel 1990 nomination for the Agatha Awards. Harris wrote eight books in her series about a Georgia librarian. In 1996, she released the first in the much darker Shakespeare mysteries, featuring the amateur sleuth Lily Bard, a karate student who makes her living cleaning houses. Shakespeare's Counselor, the final, Lily Bard novel, was printed in fall 2001.

By then, Harris was feeling the call of new territory. Starting with the premise of a young woman with a disability who wants to try inter-species dating, she created The Sookie Stackhouse urban fantasy series before there was a genre called "urban fantasy." The first in the series of books by Charlaine Harris, Dead Until Dark, won the Anthony Award for Best Paperback Mystery in 2001. Each subsequent book follows Sookie through adventures involving vampires, werewolves, and other supernatural creatures. The series, which ended in 2013, has been released in over thirty languages.

Sookie Stackhouse has proven to be so popular that Alan Ball, creator of the HBO television series Six Feet Under, announced he would undertake the production of a new HBO series based upon the books. He wrote and directed the pilot episode for that series, True Blood, which premiered in September of 2008.

In October 2005, the first of Harris's new mystery series about a young woman named Harper Connelly debuted with the release of Grave Sight. Harper has the ability to determine the cause of death of any body. After four novels, this series is on hiatus. Now Harris is working on a trilogy of graphic novels with Christopher Golden and artist Don Kramer, "Cemetery Girl." On her own she is writing a new series set in the small town of Midnight, Texas.

Harris has also co-edited a series of very popular anthologies with her friend Toni L.P. Kelner, aka Leigh Perry. The anthologies feature stories with an element of the supernatural, and the submissions come from a rare mixture of mystery and urban fantasy writers.

Professionally, Harris is a member of the Mystery Writers of America, the American Crime Writers League, Sisters in Crime, and the International Crime Writers Association. She is a past member of the boards of Sisters in Crime and MWA, and she has served as president of the MWA. She is also a member of Science Fiction Writers of America, Horror Writers Association, and Romance Writers of America.

Harris has been married for many years. She mother of three wonderful children and the grandmother of two. She lives in central Texas, and when she is not writing her own books, she reads omnivorously. Shop our selection of Charlaine Harris signed books below this author biography!

Charlaine Harris Book List and Awards
Her website:
Similar authors: Laurell K. Hamilton, KIm Harrison, Sherrilyn Kenyon, Dana Stabenow
Follow him on Facebook
Follow him on Twitter

An Easy Death
Signed First Edition

An Easy Death by Charlaine Harris

Sleep Like a Baby
Signed First Edition

Sleep Like a Baby by Charlaine Harris

Grave Surprise
Signed First Edition

Grave Surprise by Charlaine Harris

Day Shift
Signed First Edition

Day Shift by Charlaine Harris

Games Creatures Play
Signed First Edition

Games Creatures Play by Charlaine Harris

Midnight Crossroad
Signed First Edition

Midnight Crossroad by Charlaine Harris
Sort By:
Page of 1
Sleep Like A Baby | Harris, Charlaine | Signed First Edition Book Harris, Charlaine | Sleep Like A Baby | Signed First Edition Copy

Author Signed Hardcover Book. September 2017 NY: Minotaur Books First edition, first printing, fine in a fine dust jacket, signed by the author.  This is a collectible book free from material defects.  Jacket covering services are available for a small fee..

Usually Ships in 3 to 5 Business Days
VJ Books Price $39.99
You save $37.00!

Charlaine Harris Bibliography

Gunnie Rose Series

  1. An Easy Death - October 2018

Midnight Texas Series

  1. Midnight Crossroad - 2014
  2. Day Shift - 2015
  3. Night Shift - 2016

Aurora Teagarden Series

  1. Real Murders - 1990
  2. A Bone to PIck - 1992
  3. Three Bedrooms, One Corpse - 1994
  4. The Julius House - 1995
  5. Dead Over Heels - 1996
  6. A Fool and His Honey - 1999
  7. Last Scene Alive - 2002
  8. Poppy Done to Death 0 2003
  9. All the Little Liars - 2016
  10. Sleep Like a Baby - September 2017

Sookie Stackhouse Series

  1. Dead Until Dark - 2001
  2. Living Dead in Dallas - 2002
  3. Club Dead - 2003
  4. Dead to the World - 2004
  5. Dead as a Doornail - 2005
  6. Definitely Dead - 2006
  7. All Together Dead - 2007
  8. From Dead To Worse - 2008
  9. Dead and Gone - 2009
  10. Dead in the Family - 2010
  11. Dead Reckoning - 2011
  12. Deadlocked - 2012
  13. Dead Ever After - 2013

Other Sookie Stackhouse

  • The Sookie Stackhouse Companion - 2011
  • After Dead: What Came Next in the World of Sookie Stackhouse - 2013
  • Dead but Not Forgotten - 2014

Harper Connelly Series

  1. Grave Sight - 2005
  2. Grave Surprise - 2006
  3. An Ice Cold Grave - 2007
  4. Grave Secret - 2009

Go to top of page