You are here: Home > Our Authors > Kostova, Elizabeth

VJ Books Presents Author Elizabeth Kostova!

Elizabeth KostovaElizabeth Johnson Kostova was born December 26, 1964 in New London, Connecticut and raised in Knoxville, Tennessee. She holds a B.A. in British Studies from Yale College and an M.F.A. in creative writing from the University of Michigan, where she won Hopwood Awards in both fiction and non-fiction.

The Historian was the first debut novel in U.S. publishing history to debut at #1 on the New York Times Bestseller List, has been translated into 40 languages, and won Quill and Independent Bookseller Awards. The Swan Thieves was also a New York Times Bestseller and has been translated into 28 languages.

Kostova has taught in programs at the University of North Carolina at Wilmington, the University of Michigan, Drexel University, the University of the Arts in Philadelphia, and Penn State-- as well as at the Sozopol Seminars on the Bulgarian Black Sea and Bear River Writers' Conference in northern Michigan. She reads and lectures internationally and is co-founder of the Elizabeth Kostova Foundation, which provides competitive opportunities for Bulgarian writers and translators, as well as opportunities for native-English writers to travel to Bulgaria.

She also serves on the University Council of the American University of Bulgaria in Blagoevgrad and as Vice President of the Pen & Plate Club in North Carolina. She has received awards for service from the Bulgarian Ministry of Culture and the town of Sozopol.

Elizabeth Kostova Book List and Awards
Her website:
Similar authors: Dan Brown, Raymond Khoury, Lindsey Davis, Kate Mosse
Follow her on Facebook
Elizabeth Kostova Foundation for Creative Writing on Twitter

The Shadow Land
Signed First Edition

The Shadow Land by Elizabeth Kostova

The Swan Thieves
Signed First Edition

The Swan Thieves by Elizabeth Kostova

Elizabeth Kostova Bibliography


  • The Historian - 2005
  • The Swan Thieves - 2010
  • The Shadow Land - April 2017

Elizabeth Kostova Awards

  • Hopwood Awards both in fiction and non-fiction - University of Michigan

Go to top of page