You are here: Home > Our Authors > Maguire, Gregory

VJ Books Presents Author Gregory Maguire!

Author Gregory Maguire Photo Credit Andy NewmanGregory Maguire was born in Albany, New York. He received his BA from the State University of New York at Albany and Ph.D. in English and American Literature from Tufts University. His doctoral thesis was about children's fantasy from 1933 to 1989

His work as a consultant in creative writing for children has taken him to speaking engagements across the United States and abroad. He is a founder and codirector of Children's Literature New England, Incorporated, a non-profit educational charity established in 1987. The author of numerous books for children, Mr. Maguire is also a contributor to Am I Blue?: Coming Out From the Silence, a collection of short stories for gay and lesbian teenagers.

Maguire did a good deal of traveling during his life, from living in London to Dublin to Massachusetts. While he was living in London, he found inspiration to write his most well-known book, Wicked.

He lives with his family near Boston, Massachusetts. (Photo Credit: Andy Newman).

Gregory Maguire Book List
His website:
Similar authors: Jasper Fforde, Neil Gaiman, Christopher Moore
Follow him on Facebook

The Brides of Maracoor
Signed First Edition

The Brides of Maracoor by Gregory Maguire

Signed First Edition

Hiddensee by Gregory Maguire

After Alice
Signed First Edition

After Alice by Gregory Maguire

Out of Oz
Signed First Edition

Out of Oz by Gregory Maguire

Lion Among Men
Signed First Edition

Lion Among Men by Gregory Maguire

Son of a Witch
Signed First Edition

Son of a Witch by Gregory Maguire

Gregory Maguire Bibliography

The Wicked Years

  1. Wicked: The Life and Times of the Wicked Witch of the West (1995
  2. Son of a Witch (2005)
  3. A Lion Among Men (2008)
  4. Out of Oz (2011)
Another Day
  1. The Brides of Maracoor

Other Novels

  • Confessions of an Ugly Stepsister (1999)
  • Lost (2001)
  • Mirror, Mirror (2003)
  • The Next Queen of Heaven (2010)
  • After Alice (2015)
  • Hiddensee - October 2017)
Short Stories

  • Scarecrow (2001), published in Half-Human edited by Bruce Coville (Note: This is the life story of the Scarecrow from The Wonderful Wizard of Oz, but is not a part of The Wicked Years.)
  • Fee, Fie, Foe et Cetera (2002), published in The Green Man: Tales from the Mythic Forest
  • The Oakthing (2004), published in The Faery Reel: Tales from the Twilight Realm
  • Chatterbox, published in I Believe in Water: Twelve Brushes With Religion
  • The Honorary Shepherds (1994), published in Am I Blue?:Coming Out From The Silence
  • Beyond the Fringe (1998) published in A Glory of Unicorns
  • The Seven Stage a Comeback (2000) published in A Wolf at the Door and Other Retold Fairy Tales
  • Matchless: A Christmas Story (2009)
  • The Silk Road Runs Through Tupperneck, N.H. (2009), published in How Beautiful the Ordinary: Twelve Stories of Identity
  • In That Country (2012), published in Parnassus Literary Arts Magazine

  • Making Mischief: A Maurice Sendak Appreciation (2009)
Children Books

  • The Lightning Time (1978
  • The Daughter of the Moon (1980
  • Lights on the Lake (1981
  • The Dream Stealer (1983
  • I Feel like the Morning Star (1989
  • Lucas Fishbone (1990
  • Missing Sisters (1994
  • "The Honorary Shepherds", in Am I Blue?: Coming Out From the Silence
  • Oasis (1996
  • The Good Liar (1997
  • "Beyond the Fringe", in A Glory of Unicornz
  • Crabby Cratchitt (2000
  • Leaping Beauty: And Other Animal Fairy Tales (2004
  • Hamlet Chronicles
  • Seven Spiders Spinning
  • Six Haunted Hairdos (1999
  • Five Alien Elves (1995
  • Four Stupid Cupids (2000
  • Three Rotten Eggs (2002
  • A Couple of April Fools (2004
  • One Final Firecracker (2005
  • What-the-Dickens: The Story of a Rogue Tooth Fairy (2007
  • Missing Sisters (2009
  • Egg and Spoon (2014

Go to top of page