You are here: Home > Our Authors > Mankell, Henning

VJ Books Presents Author Henning Mankell!

Author Henning MankellHenning Mankell was born in Stockholm 1948. When he was two years old the family moved to Sveg where the father worked as a court judge. The family lived in the court house in Sveg and young Henning much enjoyed listening to the grown-ups discussions on crime and punishment. At age 16 Henning Mankell dropped out of school in order to work as a merchant seaman for two years before settling in Paris. After a year and a half in the French capital, Henning returned to Sweden and got a job as a stagehand in a Stockholm theater.

In 1973, Mankell released his debut novel, Bergspr_ngaren (The Rock Blast). In the same year, he went to Africa for the first time. Ever since he has divided his time between Africa and Sweden and since 1986 he is the artistic leader of Teatro Avenida in Maputo, Mozambique.

In 1991, the first novel in the Wallander series, Faceless Killers, was published. Since, Henning Mankell has written nine more novels in the series, including the novel Before the Frost, about Kurt Wallander's daughter Linda. Next to the Wallander novels, Mankell has also written more than twenty novels and a dozen children's and youth books. In addition, he is also one of Sweden's most frequently performed dramatists.

In 2013 Henning Mankell participated in World Economic Forum in Davos, Switzerland. He is currently working on a new novel. Henning Mankell's latest novel, A Treacherous Paradise, was published in Sweden in August 2011 and will be translated into English in 2013.

Henning Mankell Book List
His website:
Similar authors: Arnaldur Indridason, Ian Rankin, Jo Nesbo, Yrsa Sigurdardottir
Follow him on Facebook
Follow him on Twitter

A Treacherous Paradise
Signed First UK Edition

A Treacherous Paradise by Henning Mankell

A Troubled Man
Signed First Edition

A Troubled Man by Henning Mankell

The Man from Beijing
Signed First Edition

The Man from Beijing by Henning Mankell

Signed First Edition

Daniel by Henning Mankell

Kennedy's Brain
Signed First Edition

Kennedy's Brain by Henning Mankell

Signed First Edition

Depths by Henning Mankell

Henning Mankell Bibliography

Kurt Wallander Series

  1. Faceless Killers - 1991
  2. The Dogs of Riga - 1992
  3. The White Lioness - 1993
  4. The Man Who Smiled - 2005
  5. Sidetracked - 1995
  6. The Fifth Woman - 1996
  7. One Step Behind - 1997
  8. Firewall - 1998
  9. The Pyramid - 2008
  10. The Troubled Man - 2011
  11. An Event in Autumn - UK, 2014

Sofia Series

  1. Secrets in the Fire - 2000
  2. Playing with Fire - 2000
  3. The Fury in the Fire - 2009

Linda Wallander Series

  1. Before the Frost - 2004

Joel Gustafson Series

  1. A Bridge to the Stars - 2005
  2. Shadows in Twilight - 2007
  3. When the Snow Fell - 2007
  4. The Journey to the End of the World - 2008

Other Novels

  • The Return of the Dancing Master - 2003*
  • Crusader's Cross - 2005
  • Chronicler of the Winds - 2006
  • Depths - 2006
  • The Eye of the Leopard - 2007
  • Kennedy's Brain - 2007
  • The Cat Who Liked Rain - 2008
  • Italian Shoes - 2009
  • Shadow of the Leopard - 2009
  • The Man from Beijing - 2010*
  • Daniel - 2010
  • The Shadow Girls - 2012
  • A Treacherous Paradise - 2013


  • Because I'm a Girl - 2009 - with Tim Butcher, Joanne Harris, Kathy Lette, Deborah Moggach, Marie Phillips, Irvine Welsh and Xiaolu Guo


  • I Die, But the Memory Lives On - 2004

Henning Mankell Awards

  • 1991 - Swedish Crime Writers' Academy, Best Swedish Crime Novel Award for Faceless Killers
  • 1991 - The Nils Holgersson Prize for A Bridge to the Stars1992 - The Glass Key Award for Best Nordic Crime Novel: Faceless Killers
  • 1993 - Deutsher Jugendliteraturpreis for A Bridge to the Stars1995 - Swedish Crime Writers' Academy, Best Swedish Crime Novel Award for Sidetracked1996 - Swedish Astrid Lingren Prize
  • 2001 - Crime Writers' Association Gold Dagger for Best Crime Novel of the Year: Sidetracked2001 - Corine Literature Prize for One Step Behind2005 - Gumshoe Award for Best European Crime Novel: The Return of the Dancing Master2008 - Corine Literature Prize for the German Audiobook The Man from Beijing

Go to top of page