You are here: Home > Our Authors > Butcher, Jim

VJ Books Presents Author Jim Butcher!

Author Jim ButcherJim Butcher is the author of the Dresden Files, the Codex Alera, and a new steampunk series, the Cinder Spires. His resume includes a laundry list of skills which were useful a couple of centuries ago, and he plays guitar quite badly. An avid gamer, he plays tabletop games in varying systems, a variety of video games on PC and console, and LARPs whenever he can make time for it. Jim currently resides mostly inside his own head, but his head can generally be found in his home town of Independence, Missouri.

Jim goes by the moniker Longshot in a number of online locales. He came by this name in the early 1990's when he decided he would become a published author. Usually only 3 in 1000 who make such an attempt actually manage to become published; of those, only 1 in 10 make enough money to call it a living. The sale of a second series was the breakthrough that let him beat the long odds against attaining a career as a novelist. You can find a selection of Jim Butcher author signed books below this bio.

Jim Butcher Book List
His website:
Similar authors: Mike Carey, Larry Correia, Laurell K. Hamilton, Sherrilyn Kenyon
Follow him on Twitter

Battle Ground

Signed First Edition

Battle Ground by Jim Butcher

Peace Talks

Signed First Edition

Peace Talks by Jim Butcher

Brief Cases

Signed Limited Edition

Brief Cases by Jim Butcher

Small Favor

Signed Limited Edition

Small Favor by Jim Butcher

The Aeronaut's Windlass
Signed First Edition

The Aeronaut's Windlass by Jim Butcher

Skin Game

Signed First Edition

Skin Game by Jim Butcher

Jim Butcher Bibliography

Cinder Spires Series
  1. The Aeronaut's Windlass - 2015

Dresden Files
  1. Storm Front (2007)
  2. Fool Moon (2008)
  3. Grave Peril (2008)
  4. Summer Knight (2009)
  5. Death Masks (2009)
  6. Blood Rites (2010)
  7. Dead Beat (2005)
  8. Proven Guilty (2006)
  9. White Night (2007)
  10. Small Favor (2008)
  11. Turn Coat (2009)
  12. Changes (2010)
  13. Ghost Story (2011)
  14. Cold Days (2012)
  15. Ghoul Goblin (2013) - Graphic Novel
  16. Skin Game (2015)
  17. Peace Talks (2020)
  18. Battle Ground (2020)

Dresden Files Omnibus
  1. Wizard for Hire (2005)
  2. Wizard by Trade (2006)
  3. Wizard at Large (2006)
  4. Wizard Under Fire (2007)
  5. Side Jobs (2010)
  6. Working for Bigfoot (2015)
  7. Brief Cases (June 2018)

Codex Alera
  1. Furies of Calderon (2004)
  2. Academ's Fury (2005)
  3. Cursor's Fury (2006)
  4. Captain's Fury (2007)
  5. Princeps' Fury (2008)
  6. First Lord's Fury (2009)

Other Writings
  • "Restoration of Faith" (Harry Dresden short story)
  • "Vignette" (Harry Dresden vignette)
  • "Something Borrowed" (Harry Dresden short story), published in My Big Fat Supernatural Wedding (October 3, 2006)
  • "It's My Birthday Too" (Harry Dresden short story), published in Many Bloody Returns (September 4, 2007)
  • "Heorot" (Harry Dresden short story), published in My Big Fat Supernatural Honeymoon (December 26, 2007)
  • "Day Off" (Harry Dresden short story), published in Blood Lite (October 21, 2008)
  • Welcome to the Jungle, a prequel to the series. A graphic novel, illustrated by Ardian Syaf), published by Dabel Brothers (October 21, 2008)
  • Backup: A Story of the Dresden Files (Harry Dresden novelette, illustrated by Mike Mignola), published by Subterranean Press (October 31, 2008)
  • "The Warrior", published in Mean Streets (January 6, 2009)
  • "Last Call", published in Strange Brew (July 7, 2009)

Go to top of page