You are here: Home > Our Authors > Jackson, Joshilyn

VJ Books Presents Author Joshilyn Jackson!

Joshilyn Jackson was born in 1968 in Fort Walton Beach, Florida. As a young child, her family moved often, following her father's military career. This led her to find a sense of home in books, and develop an early interest in writing.

Jackson initially dropped out of college to become an actor, but eventually found she preferred writing the plays. She went back to school and graduated from Georgia State University with a BA in English Literature. She then went on to earn an MA in Creative Writing from the University of Illinois at Chicago, where she subsequently taught English, before moving back to the South.

With 10 novels published so far, Jackson has been Georgia's Author of the Year in Fiction twice. Mother May I, hitting shelves in April 2021. Drawing on her experience as an actor, Jackson also narrates her own audiobooks.

In addition to being a novelist, Jackson is a board member at Reforming Arts, a non-profit which runs educational programs for incarcerated populations. Through this program, she teaches writing classes in Georgia's maximum security women's prison.

Jackson currently resides in Decatur, Georgia with her family.

Joshilyn Jackson Book List and Awards
Author's website:
Similar authors: Kristin Hannah, Greer Hendricks
Follow them on Facebook
Follow them on Twitter

Mother May I
Signed First Edition

Mother May I by Joshilyn Jackson
Sort By:
Page of 1
Jackson, Joshilyn | Mother May I | Signed First Edition Book Jackson, Joshilyn | Mother May I | Signed First Edition Book

Author Signed Hardcover Book. April 2021 NY: William Morrow First edition, first printing, mint, new/unread in a flawless dust jacket, deckle edge paper, signed by author. Each dust jacket is protected in an acid-free archival quality acetate cover.

Usually Ships in 24 to 72 Hours
VJ Books Price $34.99

Joshilyn Jackson Bibliography


  • Gods in Alabama - 2005
  • Between, Georgia - 2006
  • The Girl Who Stopped Swimming - 2008
  • Backseat Saints - 2010
  • A Grown-Up Kind of Pretty - 2012
  • Someone Else's Love Story - 2013
  • The Opposite of Everyone - 2016
  • The Almost Sisters - 2017
  • Never Have I Ever - 2019
  • Mother May I - April 2021


  • My Own Miraculous - 2013


  • Don't Quit Your Day Job - 2010 (contributor)
  • Wedding Cake For Breakfast - 2012 (contributor)

Joshilyn Jackson Awards

  • Southern Independent Booksellers Award for First Fiction for Gods in Alabama
  • Georgia Author of the Year (Fiction) in 2007 and 2011
  • Willie Morris Award for Southern Fiction (Finalist)

Go to top of page