You are here: Home > Our Authors > Fairstein, Linda

VJ Books Presents Author Linda Fairstein!

Author Linda Fairstein Linda Fairstein is the internationally best-selling author of a series of crime novels featuring Manhattan prosecutor Alexandra Cooper. The novels draw on Fairstein's legal expertise as well as her knowledge of and affection for the rich history of the city of New York. Fairstein is one of America's foremost legal experts on crimes of violence against women and children. She served as head of the sex crimes unit of the Manhattan District Attorney's office from 1976 until 2002 and is the author of a series of novels featuring Manhattan prosecutor Alexandra Cooper.

Fairstein is an honors graduate of Vassar College (1969) and the University of Virginia School of Law (1972). She joined the Manhattan District Attorney's office in 1972 as an Assistant District Attorney. She was promoted to the head of the sex crimes unit in 1976.

She left the District Attorney's office in 2002 and has continued to consult, write, lecture, and serve as a sex crimes expert for a wide variety of print and television media outlets, including CNN, MSNBC, and Larry King, among others. She is often called to provide her opinion on high profile prosecutions.

Fairstein was the founder of the Domestic Violence Committee of the New York Women's Agenda and is a frequent speaker on issues surrounding domestic abuse.

Linda Fairstein Book List and Awards
Her website:
Similar authors: Alan Jacobson, John Lescroart, Phillip Margolin, Brad Meltzer
Follow her on Facebook
Follow her on Twitter

Blood Oath
Signed First Edition

Blood Oath by Linda Fairstein

Signed First Edition

Deadfall by Linda Fairstein

Killer Look
Signed First Edition

Killer Look by Linda Fairstein

Devil's Bridge
Signed First Edition

Devil's Bridge by Linda Fairstein

Terminal City
Signed First Edition

Terminal City by Linda Fairstein

Death Angel
Signed First Edition

Death Angel by Linda Fairstein

Linda Fairstein Bibliography

Prosecutor Alexandra Cooper Series

  1. Final Jeopardy - 1996
  2. Likely To Die - 1997
  3. Cold Hit - 1999
  4. The Deadhouse - 2001
  5. The Bone Vault - 2003
  6. The Kills - 2004
  7. Entombed - 2005
  8. Death Dance - 2006
  9. Bad Blood - 2007
  10. Killer Heat - 2008
  11. Lethal Legacy - 2009
  12. Hell Gate - 2010
  13. Silent Mercy - March 2011
  14. Night Watch - July 2012
  15. Death Angel - 2013
  16. Terminal City - 2014
  17. Devil's Bridge - 2015
  18. Deadfall - July 2017
  19. Blood Oath - March 2019

Other Fiction

  • I'd Kill for That - 2004
  • Killer Look - July 2016


  • Sexual Violence: Our War Against Rape - 1993
  • The Best American Crime Reporting - 2007 - Fairstein as Editor

Linda Fairstein Awards and Honors

  • The Deadhouse - Winner of the Nero Wolfe Award for Best Crime Novel of 2001, and chosen as a "Best Book of 2001" by both The Washington Post and the Los Angeles Times.
  • Sexual Violence - New York Times Notable Book of the Year.

Go to top of page