You are here: Home > Our Authors > Margolin, Phillip

VJ Books Presents Author Phillip Margolin!

Phillip Margolin
Defense attorney Robin Lockwood faces an unimaginable personal disaster and her greatest professional challenge in the New York Times bestselling Phillip Margolinís new legal thriller, MURDER AT BLACK OAKS releasing in November 2022. It is the sixth book in the popular series following THE DARKEST PLACE that topped the charts early in 2022. Other books in the series include A MATTER OF LIFE AND DEATH (2021), A REASONABLE DOUBT (2020), THE PERFECT ALIBI (2019) and THE THIRD VICTIM (2018).

Margolin's first novel, HEARTSTONE, earned him an Edgar nomination for Best Original Paperback Mystery of 1978. He has been writing full time since 1996.

He lives in Portland. Oregon where besides writing novels and practicing law, Margolin has been President and Chairman of the Board of Chess for Success and has served on the Board of Literary Arts, which sponsors the Oregon Book Awards, The Writers in the Schools program and Portland Arts and Lectures.

A list of his titles follow below of your can browse them here.

Phillip Margolin Book List and Awards
Author's website:
Similar authors: Alafair Burke, John Lescroart, Steve Martini, Scott Turow
Follow them on Facebook
Follow them on Twitter Watch Videos

The Darkest Place
Signed First Edition

The Darkest Place by Phillip Margolin

A Matter of Life and Death
Signed First Edition

A Matter of Life and Death by Phillip Margolin

A Reasonable Doubt
Signed First Edition

A Reasonable Doubt by Phillip Margolin

The Perfect Alibi
Signed First Edition

The Perfect Alibi by Phillip Margolin

The Third Victim
Signed First Edition

The Third Victim by Phillip Margolin

Violent Crimes
Signed First Edition

Violent Crimes by Phillip Margolin
YouTube Videos

John and Virginia Review The Fall of Moscow Station and Violent Crimes!

Unboxing Phillip Margolin's Violent Crimes!

Go to top of page

Phillip Margolin Bibliography

Robin Lockwood Series

  1. The Third Victim - 2018
  2. The Perfect Alibi - 2019
  3. A Reasonable Doubt - 2020
  4. A Matter of Life and Death - 2021
  5. The Darkest Place - 2022
  6. Murder at Black Oaks-2022

Amanda Jaffe Series

  1. Wild Justice - 2000
  2. The Associate - 2002
  3. Ties That Bind - 2003
  4. Proof Positive - 2006
  5. Fugitive - 2009
  6. Violent Crimes - 2016

Brad Miller Series

  1. Executive Privilege - 2008
  2. Supreme Justice - 2010
  3. Capitol Murder - 2012

Other Novels

  • Heartstone - 1978
  • The Last Innocent Man - 1981
  • Gone, But Not Forgotten - 1993
  • After Dark - 1995
  • The Burning Man - 1996
  • The Undertaker's Widow - 1998
  • Sleeping Beauty - 2004
  • Lost Lake - 2005
  • Vanishing Acts - 2011 (with Ami Margolin Rome)
  • Sleight of Hand - 2013
  • Worthy Brown's Daughter - 2014
  • Woman with a Gun - 2014

Short Stories

  • The Girl in the Yellow Bikini - 1974
  • Angie's Delight - 1998
  • The Jailhouse Lawyer - 1998
  • The House on Pine Terrace - 2010

Phillip Margolin Awards

  • Distinguished Northwest Writer Award - 2009

Go to top of page