You are here: Home > Books by Author > Search By Author > Ruff, Matt

VJ Books Presents Author Matt Ruff!

Author Matt RuffMatt Ruff was born in New York City in 1965. He decided he wanted to be a fiction writer when he was five years old and spent his childhood and adolescence learning how to tell stories. At Cornell University he wrote what would become his first published novel, Fool on the Hill, as his senior thesis in Honors English. His professor Alison Lurie helped him find an agent, and within six months of his college graduation Fool on the Hill had been sold to Atlantic Monthly Press. Through a combination of timely foreign rights sales, the generous support of family and friends, occasional grant money, and a slowly accumulating back list, Ruff has managed to make novel-writing his primary occupation ever since.

His third novel, Set This House in Order, marked a critical turning point in his career after it won the James Tiptree, Jr. Award, a Washington State Book Award, and a Pacific Northwest Booksellers Association Award. That helped him secure a fellowship from the National Endowment for the Arts. His fourth novel, Bad Monkeys, also won multiple awards.

In 1998 Ruff married his best friend, the researcher and rare-book expert Lisa Gold. They live in Seattle, Washington.

Matt Ruff Book List and Awards
His website:
Similar authors: Christopher Moore, Dan Simmons
Follow him on Facebook
Follow him on Twitter

Lovecraft Country
Signed First Edition

Lovecraft Country by Matt Ruff

Set This House in Order
Signed First Edition

Set This House in Order by Matt Ruff
Sort By:
Page of 1
Mirage, The | Ruff, Matt | Signed First Edition Book Ruff, Matt | Mirage, The | Signed First Edition Copy

Author Signed Hardcover Book. 2012 NY: HarperCollins First edition, first printing, fine in a fine dust jacket, signed by the author, remainder marked.  Each dust jacket is protected in an acid-free archival quality acetate cover.

Usually Ships in 24 to 72 Hours
VJ Books Price $19.99 --> Learn more about Remainder Marks

Matt Ruff Bibliography

  • Fool on the Hill - 1988
  • Sewer, Gas, & Electric - 1997
  • Set This House in Order - 2003
  • Bad Monkeys - 2007
  • Mirage - 2012
  • Lovecraft Country - Coming February 2016

Matt Ruff Awards

  • James Tiptree, Jr. Award
  • Washington State Book Award
  • Pacific Northwest Booksellers Association Award

Go to top of page