You are here: Home > Our Authors > Garris, Mick

VJ Books Presents Author Mick Garris!

Author Mick GarrisMick Garris was born in Santa Monica, California, and grew up in the San Fernando Valley. is a producer, director, screenwriter and novelist specializing in the horror genre. He has had his hand in dozens of films and television shows, published several works of fiction, and is perhaps best known for his long and fruitful association with author Stephen King.

Garris' first job in the film industry was doing publicity for Avco-Embassy Pictures, where he produced Ůbehind the scenesÓ documentaries for numerous genre films. This led to a stint as the host of THE FANTASY FILM FESTIVAL, a TV talk show airing on L.A.'s legendary Z Channel, in which Garris interviewed many high-profile actors and filmmakers.

His big break came when he was hired by Steven Spielberg to serve as a writer and story editor on AMAZING STORIES (1985). Spielberg asked Mick to direct an episode based on one of this stories, and he has been writing, producing, and directing ever since.

His first feature film as a director was CRITTERS 2 (1988), followed by PSYCHO IV: THE BEGINNING (1990). In 1992, Garris began his association with Stephen King when he was selected to direct the author's original screenplay for SLEEPWALKERS. Pleased with the results, King chose Garris to helm the epic mini-series based his novel, THE STAND (1994), which went on to become one of history's most highly-rated television shows.

Garris and King followed up with a three-part TV adaptation of THE SHINING in 1997. Garris went on to direct QUICKSILVER HIGHWAY (1997), based on two stories by King and Clive Barker, VIRTUAL OBSESSION (1998), THE JUDGE (2001) and LOST IN OZ (2002). He and Stephen King reunited for RIDING THE BULLET (2004) and DESPERATION (2006).

In 2011, Garris published his first novel: Development Hell. This was preceded by the short story collection, A Life in Cinema (2002), and followed by the novellas Snow Shadows (2013) and Tyler's Third Act (2013).

Garris returned to his roots as the Creator and Host of POST MORTEM (2010-11), a genre-themed talk show airing on FearNetHD. Recently, he produced and directed another mini-series adaptation of a Stephen King novel, BAG OF BONES (2011), and served as Executive Producer of the feature film UNBROKEN (2014), directed by Angelina Jolie.

He has directed episodes of PRETTY LITTLE LIARS and its spinoff, RAVENSWOOD, and WITCHES OF EAST END, and currently has several series and features in development.

Mick Garris Book List and Awards
His website:
Similar authors: Clive Barker, Joe Hill, Stephen King, Dean Koontz, Robert McCammon
Follow him on Facebook

Tyler's Third Act
Signed Limited Edition

Tyler's Third Act by Mick Garris

Mick Garris Bibliography


  • Development Hell - 2006
  • Snow Shadows - 2012
  • Tylerís Third Act - 2012
  • Salome - 2015

Mick Garris Awards

  • 2006 New York City Horror Film Festival Lifetime Achievement Award

Go to top of page