You are here: Home > Our Authors > Nesser, Hakan

VJ Books Presents Author Hakan Nesser!

Hakan NesserH"kan Nesser (born February 21, 1950) is one of Sweden's most successful authors, and has written a number of successful novels, mostly crime fiction. He has won Best Swedish Crime Novel Award three times _ which is quite remarkable _ and his novel Carambole won the Glass Key award in 2000. His books have been translated from Swedish into 9 languages.

H"kan Nesser was born and grew up in Kumla, and has lived most of his adult life in Uppsala. He is a secondary level teacher. His first novel was published in 1988, but he worked as a teacher until 1998 when he became a full-time author, after having become extremely successful as a heavyweight crime writer with his Van Veeteren series. In August, 2006, H"kan Nesser and his wife Elke moved to Greenwich Village in New York. A few years later the couple packed their bags and moved to London.

Hakan Nesser has published 20 books in Swedish. Five of them have so far been translated to English. They are Borkmann's Point (2006), The Return (2007), The Mind's Eye (2008), Woman with Birthmark (2009), and The Inspector and Silence (2010). All of these are books in the series about Van Veeteren. The series about Van Veeteren consists of 10 books (in Swedish), just like Sj_wall & Wahl__'s famous series about Martin Beck did.

A recurring main character is Inspector Van Veeteren, a detective in the early novels and later the owner of an antique books shop. These books play out in a fictitious city called Maardam, said to be located in northern Europe in a country which is never named but resembles Sweden, the Netherlands, Poland and Germany. The names however are mostly Dutch.

With his 2006 crime novel M_nniska utan hund (Human without Dog) Nesser introduced a new main character, Inspector Gunnar Barbarotti, a Swedish police inspector of Italian descent. He has remained the main "hero" in Nesser's crime books since then. Barbarotti is a more upbeat character then Van Veeteren and the books are firmly set in Sweden, although the town of Kymlinge is fictitious..

She lives with her family in west central Florida.

Hakan Nesser Book List and Awards
His website:
Similar authors: Arnaldur Indridason, Henning Mankell, Yrsa Sigurdardottir, James Thompson
Follow him on Facebook (Swedish)

Mind's Eye
Signed First Edition

Mind's Eye by Hakan Nesser

The Strangler's Honeymoon
Signed 1st UK Edition

The Strangler's Honeymoon by Hakan Nesser

The Weeping Girl
Signed 1st UK Edition

The Weeping Girl by Hakan Nesser

Hakan Nesser Bibliography (Swedish titles and translations)

Inspector Van Veeteren Series
  1. 1993 – Det grovmaskiga nätet; English translation: The Mind's Eye, 2008
  2. 1994 – Borkmanns punkt; English translation: Borkmann's Point, 2006
  3. 1995 – Återkomsten; English translation: The Return, 2007
  4. 1996 – Kvinna med födelsemärke; English translation: Woman with Birthmark, 2009
  5. 1997 – Kommissarien och tystnaden: English translation: The Inspector and Silence, 2010
  6. 1998 – Münsters fall: English translation: The Unlucky Lottery, 2011 (Münster's Case, USA, 2012)
  7. 1999 – Carambole; English translation: Hour of the Wolf, 2012
  8. 2000 – Ewa Morenos fall English translation: The Weeping Girl, 2013
  9. 2001 – Svalan, katten, rosen, döden English translation: The Strangler's Honeymoon, 2013
  10. 2003 – Fallet G; English translation: The G File, 2014
Inspector Barbarotti Series
  1. 2006 – Människa utan hund
  2. 2007 – En helt annan historia
  3. 2008 – Berättelse om herr Roos
  4. 2010 – De ensamma
  5. 2012 – Styckerskan från Lilla Burma
Other novels
  • 1988 – Koreografen
  • 1996 – Barins triangel
  • 1998 – Kim Novak badade aldrig i Genesarets sjö
  • 1999 – Flugan och evigheten
  • 2002 – Och Piccadilly Circus ligger inte i Kumla
  • 2002 – Kära Agnes!
  • 2004 – Skuggorna och regnet
  • 2005 – Från doktor Klimkes horisont
  • 2009 – Maskarna på Carmine Street
  • 2011 – Himmel över London
  • 2014 – Levande och döda I Winsford; English translation: The Living and the Dead in Winsford (2015)
Hakan Nesser Awards
  • 1994 – Best Swedish Crime Novel Award for Borkmanns punkt
  • 1996 – Best Swedish Crime Novel Award for Kvinna med födelsemärke
  • 2000 – Glass Key Award for Carambole
  • 2007 – Best Swedish Crime Novel Award for En helt annan historia
Go to top of page