You are here: Home > Our Authors > Brooks, Terry

VJ Books Presents Author Terry Brooks!

Author Terry BrooksTerry Brooks is the bestselling author of the critically acclaimed Shannara series beginning with The Sword of Shannara published in 1977. It became the first work of fiction ever to appear on the New York Times trade paperback bestseller list. “The Shannara Chronicles,” was a 10-episode TV show on MTV adapted from the second novel of the series, The Elfstones of Shannara.

Brooks is also the author of the Landover and Word/Void series, including being hand-picked by George Lucas to create the novelization of Star Wars: The Phantom Menace, which hit #1 on the New York Times bestseller list.

His latest novel, Child of Light, is the first novel of a brand new fantasy series about a human girl struggling to find her place in a magical world she’s never known. Told with a fresh, energetic voice, this fantasy puzzle box is perfect for fans of Terry Brooks and new readers alike, as one young woman slowly unlocks truths about herself and her world—and, in doing so, begins to heal both.

Brooks discovered his love for writing during high school, before going on to earn a BA in English Literature from Hamilton College in New York. There, he found particular inspiration in the works of William Faulkner and J.R.R. Tolkien. Following undergrad, Brooks earned his J.D. from the School of Law at Washington & Lee University. He worked as an attorney before turning to writing full-time.

Terry Brooks was born in Sterling, Illinois in 1944. He currently lives in Oregon with his wife, Judine.

You can find a signed copy of Child of Light and a collection of other Terry Brooks signed books below.

Terry Brooks Book List
Author's website:
Similar authors: Stephen R. Donaldson, Raymond E. Feist, R.A. Salvatore, Tad Williams
Follow them on Facebook
Follow them on Twitter

Child of Light
Signed First Edition

Child of Light by Terry Brooks

Small Magic
Signed First Edition

Small Magic by Terry Brooks

The Last Druid
Signed First Edition

The Last Druid by Terry Brooks

The Stiehl Assassin
Signed First Edition

The Stiehl Assassin by Terry Brooks

Street Freaks
Signed First Edition

Street Freaks by Terry Brooks

The Skaar Invasion
Signed First Edition

The Skaar Invasion by Terry Brooks

Terry Brooks Bibliography

The Original Shannara Trilogy

  1. The Sword of Shannara - 1977
  2. The Elfstones of Shannara - 1982
  3. The Wishsong of Shannara - 1985

The Heritage of Shannara

  1. The Scions of Shannara - 1990
  2. The Druid of Shannara - 1991
  3. The Elf Queen of Shannara - 1992
  4. The Talismans of Shannara - 1993

Prequel to the Original Shannara Trilogy

  • First King of Shannara - 1996

Word & Void Series

  1. Running with the Demon - 1997
  2. A Knight of the Word - 1998
  3. Angel Fire East - 1999

The Voyage of the Jerle Shannara Trilogy

  1. Ilse Witch - 2000
  2. Antrax - 2001
  3. Morgawr - 2002

Genesis of Shannara Trilogy

  1. Armageddon's Children - 2006
  2. The Elves of Cintra - 2007
  3. The Gypsy Morph - 2008

High Druid of Shannara Trilogy

  1. Jarka Ruus - 2003
  2. Tanequil - 2004
  3. Straken - 2005

Legends of Shannara

  1. Bearers of the Black Staff - 2010
  2. The Measure of the Magic - 2011

The Dark Legacy of Shannara Trilogy

  1. Wards of Faerie - 2012
  2. Bloodfire Quest - 2013
  3. Witch Wraith - 2013

Defenders of Shannara

  1. The High Druid's Blade - 2014
  2. The Darkling Child - 2015
  3. The Sorcerer's Daughter - 2016

Paladins of Shannara

  1. Allanon's Quest - 2012 - eBook short story, prequel to The Sword of Shannara
  2. The Weapons Master's Choice - 2013 - eBook short story
  3. The Black Irix - 2013 - eBook short story

The Fall of Shannara

  1. The Black Elfstone - June 2017
  2. The Skaar Invasion - June 2018
  3. The Stiehl Assassin - May 2019
  4. The Last Druid - October 2020

Shannara Related Works

  • The Guide to Shannara - 1986
  • The World of Shannara - 2001 (companion book with Teresa Patterson)
  • Indomitable - 2003 (short story published in anthology Legends II)
  • Dark Wraith of Shannara - 2008 (graphic novel)
  • Walker and the Shade of Allanon - 2013 (short story published in Unfettered: New Tales by Masters of Fantasy)
  • Imaginary Friends - 1991 (short story published in anthology Once Upon a Time: A Treasury of Modern Fairy Tales)

Magic Kingdom of Landover Series

  1. Magic Kingdom for Sale - 1986
  2. The Black Unicorn - 1987
  3. Wizard at Large - 1988
  4. The Tangle Box - 1994
  5. Witches' Brew - 1995
  6. A Princess of Landover - 2009

Stand-Alone Novels

  • Hook - 1991
  • Star Wars Episode I: The Phantom Menace - 1999
  • Street Freaks - October 2018
  • Small Magic: Short Fiction - 2021
  • Child of Light - 2021

Other Works

  • The Writers Complete Fantasy Reference: An Indispensable Compendium of Myth and Magic - 2000, with Michael J. Varhola
  • Sometimes the Magic Works: Lessons from a Writing Life - 2003
  • Why I Write About Elves - 2005

Go to top of page